Shrimp Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I'm the original TEXICANTWIN who posted this recipe...lost my old email info and password so I've created a new profile. It's important to note that yes, this can obviously be cooked on the stovetop easily and that you can totally play around with the amounts and kinds of seasonings. At home I make this spicier and for a different group I'll make it with less of a kick. I love it that people are taking this starter recipe and twisting it to their unique tastes! I've made this recipe using shrimp, crawfish, chicken, crab and fish. I've used margarine or butter, depending on what I had more of in the fridge. It all depends on what you are in the mood for. *In recent years I have decreased the amount of time I cook the shrimp in the microwave. I've been adding it last so that it doesn't overcook. Remember, a "c" shape is done but an "o" is overcooked.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Wow! This was fantastic and soooo easy. I had to improvise a little. I used golden mushroom soup, and I didn't have any carrots so I used some mixed frozen veggies from my freezer. I also added some creole seasoning, garlic salt and some red pepper flakes. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I cooked this on the stovetop very easy only one pot which means a bonus in cleaning! Had left overs the next day and it was even better the spices really came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was okay but bland. It was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Excellent. On the advice of others, I added vegetable juice, but I also added a smidge of beer and lots of old bay seasoning. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made this for my very picky family last night. I bought precooked frozen shrimp that i thawed,cut up, and threw in after everything else was done in the microwave. I left out the green onion and parsley. My father raved so much about it that he wants me to make it again tonight! Easiest and best recipe i've found on this site so far. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pontotoc, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Recipe worked out great! The entire family, including Hubby whose from New Orleans, loved it! Next time I'll add a bit more spice to me and hubby's portion. Made enough for 12 so we'd have left overs, but since it was so wonderful, there was none left. I opted not to use the microwave, so did everything on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATTICAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Amazingly good! followed reviews suggestions W.sauce, wine, seasoning and used stovetop method and it was wonderful. Husband has not stopped talking about it all night! Spicyness can be adjusted to taste. served w/rice, salad with simple vinegrette and corn bread. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARONDALE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is such good etouffee! I made a few small modifications: I made it on the stove top instead of the microwave. I sauteed the veggies in butter (not margarine) until they were tender, then added all the remaining ingredients and seasonings and let that cook for about another 10 minutes or so. To the seasonings, I added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce, a bay leaf, some cajun seasoning (to taste), and to thin it out a bit at the end I added some white wine, about 1/4 to 1/2 cup or so. It really adds a lot of flavor. My husband (who is cajun) even gives this recipe 5 stars, and he's picky about his cajun food! Definitely a family favorite now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Great, fast recipe. I added some crushed red pepper for a little heat. Wonderful served over polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States