Shrimp Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
A winner!! Like many others, I was skittish at microwaving shrimp so I cooked this on the stove and saved the nuking for my rice. I thinned it out with some leftover Pino Grigio from my fridge. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
used celery soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is a great dish. I did make a few changes. I used 1 lb of Bay Scallops instead of the Shrimp. I sauted the Scallops with the green onions, celery and garlic in olive oil instead of the butter and I omited the 1/2 cup of onions. I also used a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of chicken soup. I used a 1/2 teaspoon of cajun spice to kick it up a bit. My honey thought this was a great dish and said "We have to have this again". Thank you for a great recipe. We will definately have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Wow. I never would have believed a microwave recipie could be so good. But since so many others said it was good, I tried it. However, I also used pre-cooked frozen shrimp. So I defrosted it in a bowl of cold water first, and only added it the last 2 minutes of cooking time. Another reviewer noted that a "c" shape is cooked, and "o" is overcooked...2 minutes in the micro allowed them to keep their "c" shape. As for the sauce, I also added about 1 T of Worshcteshire sauce and took the hot sauce and salt to the table. My husband preferd to add some hot sauce and salt...I was fine w/ just adding a touch of salt. Served over Jasmine rice. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
we loved this. i did make a few changes. i cooked this on the stove top. i used red pepper instead of green, used less margarine and used olive oil to saute the veggies. i didn't have any green onion so i used leeks. also was making it for lent so i used cream of mushroom. I added a bay leaf, more garlic and used a really great hot sauce. Came out great!! will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
It was a hit in my household! I'm a 101 level cook (who commutes from nyc to new jersey every day) so my time is limited. It was quick, and easy. I loved it b/c it's not the usual quick meal. Oh, and I subbed cream of shrimp for the cream of chicken. Thumbs up from me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Altaviese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
delicious, easy & quick! Im not a big seafood eater,and this was delicious to me! I loved the flavor of the sauce with the shrimp. I added a bit more cayenne and used red rooster sauce, cause i like it hot! a little extra garlic, season salt (instead of reg) and I subbed in chicken broth with flour, cause i didn't have the condensed soup. cooked in a skillet and served over white rice with a blend of black,kidney & pinto beans. Husband loved it!Im sure the original recipe w/ the condensed soup is excellent!! and will definately make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was an awesome dish! I used cooked shrimp and added it right at the end until heated through. I also added about 1/2 cup heavy cream right before the shrimp to thin it out and make it creamier. Yummy!! Sooooo many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaNae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was great! I read all the reviews and made some of the same modifications: stove instead of microwave, W.shire sauce, chicken broth, a lot more cayenne pepper and hot sauce. This was really good and leftovers were even better. Will definetly make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Commerce, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was very good. I am scared of cooking in the microwave so cooked on the stove. Made sauce, sauteed shrimp and then combined the 2. I followed other reviews and added some Cajun seasoning to the sace and the shrimp before I cooked them, added some white wine and worcestershire sauce so the sauce at the end with the soup and tomato paste. Served it over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States