Shrimp Etouffee II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made it tonight for dinner. Only changes i made was to add 2/3 cup white wine it was getting thick. Made it on the stove top, added a few shakes of Sriracha hot chili sauce. It was wonderful served over rice.great recipe it will be a monthly favorite.-Toni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
used substitute for cream of chicken 1 1/4 cups low sodium chicken broth 2 tablespoons cornstarch 1/3 cup nonfat dry milk powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I thought this tasted awesome. I admit that I've never had etoufee before and therefore I have no point of reference. That being said, as far as the taste, simplicity, and convenience of utilizing ingredients that are staples in our pantry/refrigerator, this recipe gets a ten! I doubled the recipe and realized too late that I only had one can of the soup but it still tasted great. Will definitely make this again. Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I tried this recipe, with substitutions and we loved it. Here is what I did different; I made a blond roux and added it to the broth mixture; instead of adding canned soup, I added 4 Tablespoons of creme fresche. I also added peeled crawfish tails that I purchased from the seafood dept, in addition to large Gullf shrimp. . I substituted no salt tomato sauce for tomato paste and added crawfish boil seasonings instead of pepper sauce or pepper. The final touch was, adding sautéed sweet yellow onions and garlic right at the end. Served with rice. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
My partner and I loved this! Modifications I employed were adding a tblsp of Worcestershire sauce and a bay leaf as suggested by another user, a can of cream of celery soup, a cup of chicken stock, a cup of Pinot Grigio instead of the cream of chicken. My partner does not like spice but I do so i added paprika, garlic hot sauce, and a dash of salt. I also used unsalted butter rather than margarine. I have been to New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Lafayette. This recipe is very comparable to the delicious delicacies of the French creole chefs there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian23

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Tasted okay, but seemed like something was missing...I just figure out what it was. I added a little jalapeno juice, which helped some but didn't quite do it either. May make again, but just okay to us. My husband is from Louisiana so we've had Crawfish Etouffee, which was great! So maybe hard to compare...not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I've made it several times and everytime I get rave reviews. Whenever I make this I always cook it on the stovetop. Also, I modify it slightly by using 1/2 lb. of salad shrimp. I find it to works better when using it with grits or rice. I also use cream of chicken with herbs by Cambells. Finally, I use basil, garlic, and oregano tomato paste by Hunts. I find by substituting these few ingredients it makes the recipe more favorful. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Tastes just like the etouffee I had in New Orleans on our honeymoon. Thanks for the great, easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE FITZGERALD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonewoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Valle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
It tastes great and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Wow! This was tasty. I kicked it up a notch with extra hot sauce, but you could definitely stick with original measurements and it would be great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States