Shrimp Etoufee III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
We have made this soooo many times I dont even need the recipe any more. I usually make smaller batches, not that a big batch would go to waste but my family would gorge themselves on it in one night... LOL. I use half the called for butter, and make a rue as well... tastes better to me then cornstarch... it is a favorite and we are glad to have expecially come fridays in lent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
One thing I learned is you must make your roux the color of peanut butter and then all the flavores come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Michniak Pennington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. I customized it a bit by adding garlic(1 tsp), making a roux and using butter and olive oil. It was a little bland so next time I will add thyme,oregano, paprika and cajun spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Omitted the onions because I hate them with a passion and accidentally overcooked it until the peppers and celery were quite mushy and yet it still tasted amazing! I can't wait until I try it again and make it 'correctly'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
yummmm!!! Just what I was wanting. thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I used butter instead of margarine. I used banana peppers instead of bell peppers (that’s what I had in my garden). I chopped the celery instead of slicing it. I cooked the onions in butter then added the celery and peppers then more butter. When all were soft, I added ½ cup of water and the shrimp. Instead of corn starch, while the shrimp were cooking, I made a roux with butter and flour and used chicken broth instead of water. When the shrimp were nearly done, I added the chicken broth gravy and cooked over medium heat until it reached the right consistency (probably 10 more minutes beyond the 20 minutes in the original recipe. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Awesome Recipe, there were a few things that I amended to make it more authentic, i made a red roux with lard and flour instead of adding corn starch and i added parsley and garlic to round out the flavor. Every one loves this dish and this is definitely a grab "seconds" kind of dish. Oh and I also added thai chili oil to kick up the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Troch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Awesome recipe. Delicious! The only thing I did differently was used a cajun spice mix to season the shrimp...everything was just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM IN MISSOURI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This recipe was fabulous! Instead of using 2 cups of water, I used two cups of chicken stock. I also added a cup of fresh mushroom just because I love veggies! I served the dish over rice, and I used chicken broth instead of water for that too. The only change I would make is to not cook the green peppers as long, the were a little soft for my taste. That being said, the base fort his dish could easily be made for a chicken dish as well. Over all GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States