Shrimp Egg Foo Yung Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
I made another egg foo yung recipe but used the sauce from this recipe. Though I can't comment on the egg foo yung, the sauce was terrific--one I will use for many other dishes when I need a delicious gravy or sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2004
i really liked this. It was fairly easy to make and tasted pretty close to the resturant version. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This deserevs 10 stars. I grew up in Chicago and this is the way my favorite resturant made egg foo young. I moved to CA and can't find egg foo young like this anywhere. I am so glad you posted this. Now I can have egg foo young no matter where I live. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
These were absolutely wonderful. The sauce was very flavorful and even my kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This came out soooo gooood! The mixture came out a bit watery so I added cornstarch like someone suggested and the patties came out denser and firmer. My family raved about them and the leftovers the next day was even better. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I 'm going to rate this one actually a 3.75 :-) I think it does need some more tweaking but is a good start. I added in some more veggies and garlic and a bit of cornstarch to the egg mixture. I also used egg beaters from a carton rather than whole eggs. The eggs still do spread out to fill the whole pan, but if you wait for them to cook a little, you can smoosh/ fold the eggs into piles and make nice looking egg foo yung patties. The sauce needs a lot of seasoning help IMHO. I added some garlic and a dash of honey and liked it much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Simply DELICIOUS! The sauce is wonderfully flavorful and the soy sauce is not over powering the flavors as some sauces do. I left out the extra salt as I don't like super salty foods but it is still plenty salty because of the Soy Sauce and what is added to canned broth. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I was looking for something new to do with shrimp and this was just right. It was easy & healthy... I just left out some of the yolks and added a few more whites. I know this is going to become a new staple. Oh yeah, did I mention it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moominmamma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I love this recipe!!!! It's fast and Delicious. Thanks So Much. My family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
The egg omelet was absolutely wonderful and I thank you so much for that as this dish is one of my fav's when we order out. I just wish I could find a good thick sauce recipe, which is more like a gravy that we get from our local restuarant. Thanks Kimber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States