Shrimp Egg Foo Young Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Louis Charlie
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I have loved shrimp egg foo young for years and never thought I could make it myself. Thanks to this recipe I will perfect it with time. Like most reviews,the sauce was the stumbling block. But the egg came out great! I look forward to future attempts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Easy to make, however, the sauce was a tad bit off. It was on the sweeter side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is very yummy and healthy. It is wonderful as is. I thank you so mush for sharing this. My mom used to make them out of a box when I was a kid, but they discontinued it. I use recipes as a guide and switch things sometimes to the things I have on hand. I use whatever left over meat I have or leave it out. I have also used caned Chinese vegetables and a can of beansprouts. I have also added onion and celery. I always cook the vegetables first and then add to the egg and fry. The sauce is what makes these. Don't let the vinegar scare you. I used powdered chicken broth the low sodium one to cut down on sodium. I made it tonight and my Dad said it was the best meal he has had all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
OMG! This was so quick to make and with my own version ( experimenting) it is to die for!! As a Baltimorean raised on this dish (Chinese carry-outs on every street corner)I am used to brown gravy over the patties. I used this recipe but... I used 5 eggs, and after frying the patties smothered them in brown gravy. I topped the white rice with the gravy covered patty and drizzled soy sauce over it. I cooked my shrimp (no little salad shrimp for me) Maryland style using 1/4 cup beer, Old Bay Seasoning, 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar, and I/4 cup water. Every bite was delicious !!! Compliment the meal with Plum wine and enjoy1 Bon appetite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Yum. I had an excess of oil on my patties, (I used to much olive oil). Paper towels to the rescue. My patties were a little all over the place, possibly more egg next time? They do form after you work the spatula around them. I did not have cornstarch so used flour not same constituency but worked. I left out the sugar and vinegar and added sliced ginger and sesame oil to simmer with sauce. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Impressive. Fast, thrifty & delicious. Read reviews & recommend 1/2 vinegar & sugar, double cornstarch, tbsp sesame oil in sauce. Family wanted me to get up & make more b4 the 1st servings were eaten. I expected the cornstarchy, chickeny blah taste of many sauce recipes that my family passes up (including at restaurants) but this was excellent, rich & tasty. We'll never order this at a restaurant again as this version is so delicious, inexpensive to make & fast! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I had to use shredded cabbage because our store doesn't sell bean sprouts and added a fifth egg after reading the reviews. For the sauce, I had to add an extra tablespoon of soy sauce so it would have more flavor and an extra tablespoon of cornstarch so it would be thicker. These little changes aside, this recipe is GREAT! It turned out so well, my husband and I both LOVED the egg foo young and the sauce. I will definitely make it again! Thanks for submitting the recipe, Karen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Easy, fast delicious. I had fresh mixed sprouts and pre-cooked shrimp. The perfect recipe for an easy delicous meal. I didn't change anything except added more cornstarch to make the sauce a little thicker. The dish is mild so it allows the fresh taste of the sprouts to come through. I'll definitely make it again. (Make your own sprouts. It is easy and nutricious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This recipe is better than my local Chinese takeout. I did use diced chicken, beat 5 eggs instead of 4, added a whole can of drained LaChoy chinese vegetables along with the green onions and garlic powder. I found non-stick mini-skillets (the type to fry one egg) to make the patties perfectly round and all one size. I made the sauce as written the first time and did not like the vinegar addition, so omitted it the second time, used less sugar and it was excellent. Couldn't get a thick consistency with the cornstarch, so added more than written. Making again for dinner tonite. Great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I had leftover shrimp that I cut into pieces. I used about 6 oz. of sprouts and an extra egg. I also cut the sugar and vinegar by half and added about 1 t. sesame oil to the sauce. It was excellent - much lighter than the egg foo young from our Chinese take out. Thanks for the recipe - I would def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Smith Kubaska

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States