Shrimp Egg Foo Young Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I worked for a Chinese family in their restaurant while I was a young adult and this comes close to their popular recipe. I used fresh bean sprouts instead of canned, and defrosted salad-size shrimp in a salad spinner to ensure that all excess liquid was gone. I used a vietnamese soup stock (pho) concentrate instead of chicken broth which added additional flavor to the sauce. I love to eat egg foo young for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Parrino Byxbe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
The patties had good flavor, but the sauce, with the addition of vinegar made it sour and ruined it. I ended up using a chicken gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This turned out really good, I was not real crazy about the sauce, so next time will make that different, but the Egg Foo Young it's self was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Impressive. Fast, thrifty & delicious. Read reviews & recommend 1/2 vinegar & sugar, double cornstarch, tbsp sesame oil in sauce. Family wanted me to get up & make more b4 the 1st servings were eaten. I expected the cornstarchy, chickeny blah taste of many sauce recipes that my family passes up (including at restaurants) but this was excellent, rich & tasty. We'll never order this at a restaurant again as this version is so delicious, inexpensive to make & fast! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This recipe is better than my local Chinese takeout. I did use diced chicken, beat 5 eggs instead of 4, added a whole can of drained LaChoy chinese vegetables along with the green onions and garlic powder. I found non-stick mini-skillets (the type to fry one egg) to make the patties perfectly round and all one size. I made the sauce as written the first time and did not like the vinegar addition, so omitted it the second time, used less sugar and it was excellent. Couldn't get a thick consistency with the cornstarch, so added more than written. Making again for dinner tonite. Great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I was so scared and in the end this is one of the easiest recipes I've ever made, the family loved it, very delicious!! I even left out the shrimp. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My wife and I were pleasantly surprised to find one of our favorite foods in such an easy recipe. For our own taste, we will use less vinegar & sugar in the gravy next time. Thanks Karen, for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I had to use shredded cabbage because our store doesn't sell bean sprouts and added a fifth egg after reading the reviews. For the sauce, I had to add an extra tablespoon of soy sauce so it would have more flavor and an extra tablespoon of cornstarch so it would be thicker. These little changes aside, this recipe is GREAT! It turned out so well, my husband and I both LOVED the egg foo young and the sauce. I will definitely make it again! Thanks for submitting the recipe, Karen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is very yummy and healthy. It is wonderful as is. I thank you so mush for sharing this. My mom used to make them out of a box when I was a kid, but they discontinued it. I use recipes as a guide and switch things sometimes to the things I have on hand. I use whatever left over meat I have or leave it out. I have also used caned Chinese vegetables and a can of beansprouts. I have also added onion and celery. I always cook the vegetables first and then add to the egg and fry. The sauce is what makes these. Don't let the vinegar scare you. I used powdered chicken broth the low sodium one to cut down on sodium. I made it tonight and my Dad said it was the best meal he has had all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Easy, fast delicious. I had fresh mixed sprouts and pre-cooked shrimp. The perfect recipe for an easy delicous meal. I didn't change anything except added more cornstarch to make the sauce a little thicker. The dish is mild so it allows the fresh taste of the sprouts to come through. I'll definitely make it again. (Make your own sprouts. It is easy and nutricious.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States