Shrimp Durango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This was very good ... I added mushrooms, onions and fresh garlic ... had to triple the sauce and added far more cayenne than it called for along with crushed red pepper flakes ... we like things very spicy ... I also used fresh scallops along with the shrimp ... we'll be making this again, it was easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was a nice light pasta. Great flavor and a nice change from our usual pasta recipes. I used 3/4 box of whole wheat linguine and added 1 clove minced garlic and 1/4 of an onion. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Giving this 4 stars because I made a lot of modifications (5 stars with mods :)). I only used 1/2 pound of pasta. This just isn't enough to cover a pound. I use 1 Tbsp of butter and 2Tbsp of olive oil instead of 3 butter. Before adding the shrimp to the butter/oil, I sauteed 1/2 diced onion, 1/2 diced red bell pepper and 2 minced cloves of garlic. I also added some oregano and increased the cayenne. This was a quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Awesome recipe, thank you so much for sharing it. Our pasta turned out a little on the dry side, so I mixed up more of the wine/cilantro sauce & added it in. My son loved it and he's pretty picky. Our shrimp were very fresh and turned out great. I wouldn't change any of the ingredients, just add more sauce. Yummy Yummy Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lago Vista, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe! I was in a crunch to get something ready for supper, and I came across this and I'm now so glad I did. I tossed this with farfalle instead of fettucine(the kids like the bowties) and threw a few dashes of garlic, minced onions, oregano, and parsley into it and cut back on the cayenne a bit(my 3 yr old is the only one of our kids that likes food spicy). Then I tossed in some steamed mixed vegetables and voila! The kids loved it! My 5 yr old has now insisted I make it for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This dish was light and delicious with a slight kick and very easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly except I used more cilantro and a bit more lime juice. The lime was a bit too strong which was my fault. Next time I will add the extra cilantro but keep the lime as the recipe calls for. I served this with the 5 star bean salsa recipe I got from here (which I added lime and cilantro to) and it made a sensational meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Quick and delicious. i also added a little garlic powder since that's all we had and it turned out great. just enough sauce and just enough spice. i brought the left overs to my boyfriend, and now he thinks i can cook! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsruiz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dousman, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was awesome!!! I did make some alterations though: I added about 2 tsp's of cayenne pepper (was NOT spicy) and an extra tbsp of lime juice. I also used shrimp AND scallops. HUGE hit and super easy!! I used whole wheat pasta as well. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Blah. I used olive oil instead of butter and it turned out bland and boring. I even added more wine, more lime, and some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Just made this tonight. I used 1/2 lb. vermicelli (instead of 1lb pasta) and 2 tbs. lemon juice instead of the lime because I didn't have lime. I also added about 1/2 tsp crushed garlic to the butter after taking the shrimp out and before added the white wine and lemon juice. I can't imagine this being enough sauce for a whole pound of noodles. I did like it though I think I'd like it better with a bit more sauce. Not butter, but maybe more of the wine/lemon. I think a sprinkling of cheese would have really made the dish. I'll try that next time. I'll make this again because it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States