Shrimp Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a family favorite but served cold. It can be difficult to find shrimp soup so when you do find it. Stock up ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookforme2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
So yummy and so easy. Kept in the fridge for at least a week and brought out every once in awhile to serve with crackers. Will certainly make again. Next time might try a splash of shrimp sauce or a dash of Old Bay to amp up the flavor just a bit. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was an okay dip. Simple with ingredients. Can be a starter base for additional spices and kicks. My girls loved it and I thought it was okay. But then after originally rating this recipe. I edited this review. I did follow this to a T, but when I made the batch I divided it into 2 tupperware containers, and used half to take a photo with, with the topped green onions. Now, then I thought scrap it back into a bowl and the girls can have it the next day. Well I needed a late night snack, went and grabbed the baked ruffles and the bowl with the green onions in them from before..hmm don't "just" top the dip with onions...stir them bad boys into it. That's what helps the flavor. I had to go back and chop up 2 more green onions and add to the rest. The hint of onion in this recipe..makes the flavor. No kicks or fruells, just a nice all around flavor. That's a way to go. And I'd also suggest, make it ahead so that the shrimp and onion blend well together. I didn't reheat the dip after refigerated. Taste pretty nice just as is on the cold side. So I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is an old recipe that I made 30 years ago. My 40 year old son called and just asked me for this recipe as he "loved" it as a child. I also only served this COLD with wavy thick potato chips. I just put a tsp. of lemon juice and a little hot sauce or 1 tsp. of Old Bay. I usually stirred in a cup of frozen salad shrimp. Now I am craving this also. It is so easy to make but most of us don't have the cream of shrimp soup in our cupboards so when you find it, buy several. UPDATE: I always rinse the shrimp whether it is frozen or canned. You should not taste a fishy taste then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
My Grandma has made a variation of this for as long as I can remember. She makes hers cold and it's awesome! (I think hot would be weird, but now I'm gonna have to try it!) The only differences between this recipe and the one I'm familiar with are the addition of some lemon juice and salt an pepper. I don't like mine too fishy, and I'm cheap :) so a lot of times I leave out the extra shrimp. I also sub dry onion flakes for the green onion. This is great as a veggie dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Really easy, and really good. I just added a touch of cajun seasoning. A warning; it has enough salt on it's own, so don't serve with salty chips or crackers. Buttery crackers or bread would be best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Willow, the recipe isn't the reason it smelled fishy. Use better ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREDONIA2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This dip is really, really good. A friend of mine has been making it for a couple of years and it is always a hit at parties. Try making it in a bread bowl and dipping with the bread. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
My family not like this at all... Way too fishy in scent and taste. Would not make again - had to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States