Shrimp Creole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was very good as written. I did have trouble getting it to thicken but could just need a few more minutes cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This recipe is pretty good as written, but I did things a bit different. I added more tomatoes (canned diced tomatoes with puree) and the same amount of water. I think this is the desired consistency, slightly watery but the rice soaks it up. Also, I did half shrimp and half mussels. I cooked 1 pound of mussels separately and added them on top in each serving bowl. If I could have done one thing differently, I would have added quite a bit more cajun spice and maybe some sugar to cut through the acidity. One more thing, I thought the 1/2 of oil may be too much, but it wasn't. It really makes sense when you look at the dish as a whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this recipe and found it to be just a little too acidic. I added a bit of sugar to round it out and mellow it down and it was fantastic. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This is similar to my version, except that i would be using vermouth vs white wine,( just a little perkier), and chili powder and cayenne (same as hot sauce) instead of the cajun seasoning. I also throw some sliced mushrooms in. I have had it served at a restaurant plus peas and carrots (sweetens the dish) and zucchini. yummy! a garden of flavors to feed the soul. In my book this tops the charts! I will serve lemon wedges along side of my fish dishes as the lemon is a great freshener and opens the palette. I noticed a comment that is my only last thought that is important to me... sauté the shrimp with your oil, either butter or olive oil and the chili powder. it will seal the shrimp guaranteeing they will stand out in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I loved this, my kids loved it, my BF thought it was good but not great. I couldn't get him to pin point why. This is a very healthy dish. Use low salt tomatoes and cut the olive oil a little and your cardiologist will be so proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandyloubelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lamoni, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I thought this was pretty good, but my husband didn't really care for it. I halved the recipe, but otherwise followed it, with one exception: cooking the rice. I followed the package directions to avoid ending up with gluey rice. I was surprised to see just how different my finished product looked from the photo that was showing at the time. I could have used a little more heat in this dish, but it was tasty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I used 2 teaspoons of Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning for the salt and Cajun seasoning to give this a little more zing. I also cut back on the water to keep this dish a little thicker. My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Made this recipe as written. The kids and I loved it. Husband said it was good but too watery. I think he didn't use enough rice to soak up the yummy sauce! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Loved it but had to exponentially increase the spice level for authenticity. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
good/easy recipe...a little bland for my taste. I would punch it up with more hot sauce and cayan pepper. Also, I would add a bay leaf after adding water (I used chicken broth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States