Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NYPD K9 COP
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
delicious recipe, great for the cold weather! I used a half pound of large shrimp and cut them in half. I also added about 2T. parsley to the butter when i sauteed the onions and celery. Because I used about 3 c. diced potatoes, I needed more milk (about an extra 3/4 c.), but the cream cheese kept the mixture thick. One more addition I made was 1T. of old bay. Excellent flavor! Will make again! 1/3/10- I made this again today, a little more gourmet, but both equally as delish!! I made a shrimp stock with the shells (adding old bay), once the stock was finished, I removed the shells and cooked the shrimp then used the stock to cook the potatoes. I added some white wine (maybe a Tbsp) to the onion celery mixure while it was cooking, and added more half and half for more broth. I did add about a half cup of corn niblets for color and because,,, well chowders and corn marry so well!! OH I also added some lobster that was left from new years dinner :) If you haven't made this yet, you really should! Don't be nervous with the amount of cream cheese, it adds such a great, rich flavor! And if its too thick add more milk, half and half, evaporated milk, shrimp stock or whatever you're using for the liquid in your recipe... restaurant quality for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This was great-My kids even loved it!! I changed a few things I boiled the cubed potatoes in chicken stock until fork tender I used 3 cup of potatoes-like others added 1 tablespoon of Old Bay seasoning-added 1 can of corn-1 cup chicken stock an additional cup of milk and a few drops of Tabasco. I also served them in bread bowls GREAT RECIPE! I took some to my sister at work and her co-workers had her call me to ask where I bought it because they wanted it for lunch too =)!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
This recipe was ablsolutely fabulous! My husband had recently had a "shrimp soup" as he called it. So I set out to make what he described. This was better than he had! The first time I made it I added a can of cream of celery soup and a can of baby clams (drain juice to use/wash and drain clams) so it was a "shrimp/clam" chowder-delicious!! The second time I made it I used a can of Cambell's Cream of Shrimp (gave a pink hue) and a can of cream of celery. I only used shrimp that time. It was still fabulous! There is not one complaint about this recipe. It would be great for cool weather especially and for a nice dinner in a bread bowl! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING! I was always threatened by the daunting task of making chowders as I have heard numerous times that it was tough to master a good chowder. Anyway, I found this recipe to be : - Very flavourful - Very colourful ( the celery leaves and stalks make a good contrast to the pink in the shrimp, against the white creamy sauce ) - Very easy to make! However, I did change some few things to suit it to my taste: - I did not add the entire package of cream cheese. I thought it was too much to do that. I added a bit more milk though. - Instead of the cream cheese, I added 2 low-heaped tablespoons of sifted flour, as I was stirring the soup. This thickened up the chowder quite quickly without the fat that you find in the cream cheese. - I also added a sage, thyme, dill dry herb mix ( around 3/4 tsps ) to give it that underlying flavour that goes so well with seafood chowders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Excellent chowder!! I used a little more celery and added some minced garlic and dried parsley (to taste) to the saute. I also used a little more potatoes (pre-cooked), which meant I had to up the liquid a little so I added 1/2 chicken broth. Finally, I also threw in a can of drained clams. Nice, thick, flavorful and a breeze to make. Take another bow Corwynn for another winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This is a yummy, super easy recipe! I went to the seafood counter at the store and got the broken cocktail shrimp which worked just as well and I didn't need to thaw. It does need old bay though, to give it a kick and a neat "shrimpy" color. A little pepper is necessary too. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
This was great! I cubed and boiled the potatoes before adding them. It would be hard to cook raw potatoes in this without burning the milk... Also I used cracked pepper and bayleaves. Infinite possibilites with this, use oysters or crab for the shrimp, or maybe I could try soft tofu for the cream cheese. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I thought it was bland so I added a can of chicken broth,3 shakes of garlic powder, 1 bay leaf, 3 pinches of chili powder, instead of wine I used 3 tbs of sherry, shakes of tobasco, and slightly less than 1/4 cup of crumbled blue cheese. It was GREAT then
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Great recipe. I did add a little chicken broth for some extra flavor. I also used a yellow pepper instead of celery. It was delicious. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Great recipe! I added some Creole seasoning instead of salt to give it some kick. Also, only had 4 oz cream cheese so I added a can of cream of chicken soup. Turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States