Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
We enjoyed this recipe. I did double it for I have a lot of mouths to feed. It was great. I did one thing extra to it......I added boiled shrimp and battered shrimp leftover from last night. The battered shrimp in shrimp chowder is a "PLUS" all should try it that way. You can not use just battered shrimp for your chowder would be too thick. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Padgette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This chowder was fantastic! It was so tasty! It was also so easy and quick to make. My husband really loved it as did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I thought it was pretty good, but my husband and step-son loved it. He has me giving the recipe to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
This recipe was ablsolutely fabulous! My husband had recently had a "shrimp soup" as he called it. So I set out to make what he described. This was better than he had! The first time I made it I added a can of cream of celery soup and a can of baby clams (drain juice to use/wash and drain clams) so it was a "shrimp/clam" chowder-delicious!! The second time I made it I used a can of Cambell's Cream of Shrimp (gave a pink hue) and a can of cream of celery. I only used shrimp that time. It was still fabulous! There is not one complaint about this recipe. It would be great for cool weather especially and for a nice dinner in a bread bowl! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I thought it was bland so I added a can of chicken broth,3 shakes of garlic powder, 1 bay leaf, 3 pinches of chili powder, instead of wine I used 3 tbs of sherry, shakes of tobasco, and slightly less than 1/4 cup of crumbled blue cheese. It was GREAT then
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Great recipe. I did add a little chicken broth for some extra flavor. I also used a yellow pepper instead of celery. It was delicious. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This is a yummy, super easy recipe! I went to the seafood counter at the store and got the broken cocktail shrimp which worked just as well and I didn't need to thaw. It does need old bay though, to give it a kick and a neat "shrimpy" color. A little pepper is necessary too. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYPD K9 COP
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
delicious recipe, great for the cold weather! I used a half pound of large shrimp and cut them in half. I also added about 2T. parsley to the butter when i sauteed the onions and celery. Because I used about 3 c. diced potatoes, I needed more milk (about an extra 3/4 c.), but the cream cheese kept the mixture thick. One more addition I made was 1T. of old bay. Excellent flavor! Will make again! 1/3/10- I made this again today, a little more gourmet, but both equally as delish!! I made a shrimp stock with the shells (adding old bay), once the stock was finished, I removed the shells and cooked the shrimp then used the stock to cook the potatoes. I added some white wine (maybe a Tbsp) to the onion celery mixure while it was cooking, and added more half and half for more broth. I did add about a half cup of corn niblets for color and because,,, well chowders and corn marry so well!! OH I also added some lobster that was left from new years dinner :) If you haven't made this yet, you really should! Don't be nervous with the amount of cream cheese, it adds such a great, rich flavor! And if its too thick add more milk, half and half, evaporated milk, shrimp stock or whatever you're using for the liquid in your recipe... restaurant quality for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I was looking for a recipe to use the frozen shrimp in my freezer and this was excellent! I did things a little differently though. I used a slow cooker and instead of celery I put in cream of celery soup. I cut the shrimp into pieces. I also did not use the dry white wine. It cooked in the slow cooker for about 8 hours. This was the first time I've ever had chowder and it was scrumptous! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I also used some Old Bay and a yellow pepper instead of celery... it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States