Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This recipe was very good! We added a half a cup of milk only. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
good base, would use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I made this soup last night and can I tell all of you just how truly fast a delicious it was!!!!! I will tell you my changes. First I did not have any celery so instead I sauted the potatoes with the onion because they will cook faster. then I added the block of cream cheese and 2 cups of milk and gently melted down the cream cheese. Then I added one defrosted shrimp ring (tails removed) and 1 can of baby clams with half the juice a little salt and lots of pepper. It made 4 hearty bowls for my husband and I. I will be making this for some friends on the weekend, totally satisfied with this chowder...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Very tasty, very filling! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Fabulous! Perfect just as written, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Though the end result of this recipe seems like something closer to potato soup than a seafood soup, it's an excellent recipe nonetheless. I doubled the recipe and still didn't seem to have a very good volume of soup. Melting the cream cheese on low takes a LONG time, but I suppose the low temperature is necessary so the cheese doesn't ball up and melts thoroughly. I added a little extra milk so the soup would "go further." I also added some white pepper when I added the salt. Next time, I may use more shrimp. There wasn't really enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Average. Nothing to write home about. I had to add a lot of ingredients to make it more flavoursome. Small sprinkle chilli powder, can of corn, three teaspoons of powdered chicken flavouring, herbs, vegetable salt and only then it was sort of okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This is great! Not hard to make either. I added sliced asparagus to the onions and celery, hot sauce towards the end and more white wine. Everyone enjoyed it, will definitely make again. Doubled the recipe and it made plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
this was a very good chowder. i added alittle more white wine about 2 tbsp. more and 1/4 cup half and half. i also used 1 four ounce can of bumblebee tiny select shrimp chopped,and drained instead of the 1/2 pound of shrimp.this was perfect, a taste of shrimp without the fishy smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Very tasty! I also added a can of corn and it was great - I don't think I'd ever make it without. Also added a couple of drops of hot sauce, parsley, and a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States