Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was really delicious, and heated up great for leftovers too. The only issue I had was the cooking time after the potatoes were added. I ended up having to cook it WAAAAY longer than suggested in order to make the potatoes soft enough and the chowder thick enough. Though once it was all cooked through it really was good, I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
It was good but a little cloying for my taste. All the cream cheese made it really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Fantastic! I was in a hurry to make something for dinner b4 I picked up my kids from play practice. This threw together in about 15 minutes. I added four drops of liquid smoke, minced garlic (about one tbls), old bay seasoning, onion powder, and chicken broth (to make it stretch a little). I sauteed the onion, garlic, celery, and celery leaves in evoo with one tbls of butter. everything else I threw in and whisked together. Should have doubled the recipe! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Basic idea is good. Feel it serves 2 not 4. I added 1/4 tsp. of cayenne. Needs a little something to give it zing. May even add corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
yummy evan liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was amazing!!!! I added an extra 2/3 cup milk, and I also cooked the potatoes in chicken broth before adding it. Then I used the whole pound of shrimp. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My wife hates celery. She also hates clam chowder. Even so, she loved this soup--the celery gave it a slight crunch and the cream cheese really made for a rich base. We both loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I really liked this. I made it for Christmas Eve dinner and served it in a puff pastry shell. It was so quick and easy but yet fancy. :) I boiled my diced potatoes in salted water and added the shrimp for a minute when the potatoes were almost done. I also added a bay leaf and chopped fresh parsley to the soup because I had some on hand. I also served it with Tabasco for my spicy loving husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My family liked it, but not I.For me there was the cream cheese that got in the way.To much. Tasted funny. I will try one more time but only will use a 1/4 of it instead of the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was excellent! I did however tweak it a bit. I made my own shrimp stock with the legs, shells, and onion. Then I just did the recipe the way it was written. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States