Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
i kept the ingredients the same, but cooked it in different order. After the onions, I added the potatoes and upped the broth to 2 cups. Cooked the potatoes for 15 minutes until tender, turned the heat down and added the milk/cream cheese. Turned out the perfect thickness, didn't burn, and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was pretty good. I took the advice of other reviewers and added corn and boiled both the corn and potatoes in some homemade chicken stock I had. I used fresh corn on the cob that I of course cut off the cob. I think I should have cooked the corn and celery a little longer as they were crisp, too crisp for this type of soup. The cream cheese was a fabulous idea, it added a nice smooth, creamy texture and taste, and it was very “mouth-pleasing”. But there was still something missing and I couldn’t put my finger on it. Every time I took a spoonful, I was longing for another flavor to come. I was looking for a layered flavor, but I just wasn’t getting it. THEN I decided to use some garlic pepper seasoning by McCormick (in the grinder) in my bowl, and that did it!!! It completed my dining experience. We still have some soup left in the refrigerator, so when I heat it up I’ll add the garlic pepper seasoning and see how it tastes the next day. UPDATE: This soup was great the next day after adding the garlic pepper seasoning. I also didn’t mind the crispness of the celery and corn anymore. By the way, the garlic pepper seasoning in the grinder has a much more intense flavor than the other stuff; it is actual dehydrated garlic, whole peppercorns, and sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I liked the sound of this recipe, so thought I'd try it for dinner tonight. I added 3 gloves of garlic. I didn't have any milk so I used cream of mushroom soup and approx. 1/2 can of water. I added more white wine. Didn't know if I had a dry wine. It was a Chardonney. I added approx 1 cup. This recipe turned out really well. My husband really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by airbornemama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
great recipe!! I will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
AWESOME! like other reviewers I added a tablespoon of old bay. and we are on a low carb diet so i substituted cooked cauliflower for the potatoe and it was fabulous! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great! I needed to add another cup of milk, though. Like others, I added Old Bay seasoning (about 1 teaspoon), and I also added 1 cup frozen corn and 8 sliced baby carrots, to add some more veggies. I will be happy to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Thought this soup was a nice change to my recipe for chowder. I like the cream cheese taste in the soup, but felt it needed a bit more spices, so I added some Old Bay Seasonings and it gave it a nice flavor. I will try this base for either clam chowder or seafood chowder. Nice change...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Yummy! I added bacon at the start since I've always made chowder with bacon. This was easy and the kids asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I am a huge fan of soups and this one was very good. I made a few changes to suit my tastes, which made it a 5 star chowder: added a bay leaf, a pressed clove of garlic (sauteed with the onion and celery in butter), and a cup of chicken broth (in addition to the milk). I also cut back on the cream cheese to 1/2 a package. Very yummy...I have even traded out the shrimp for a can of crab meat and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
What a great chowder recipe! Added the bay leaf and some Old Bay. I sauteed the celery and onions in salted butter. This was more than enough seasoning for the chowder and it was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States