Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Wonderful recipe, but at the end I decided to add seasonings as others recommended and this took it to a whole new level! I didn't have Old Bay Seasoning on hand so I looked up a copy-cat recipe and estimated additions using what I did have. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyree

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Love this recipe! I turned it into an easy crock pot meal as these tend to fit my lifestyle better. As for ingredients I increased the milk to 1 & 3/4 cup like other reviewers, instead of salt I used seasoning salt, added 1 TBSP of Old Bay seasoning and 3/4 of an 11 oz can of super sweet yellow and white corn. Basically I just melted the cream cheese, milk, and margarine in a medium saucepan. Added all of the other ingredients into the crock pot with my additions and poured the melted cream cheese mixture over and cooked on low 6-8 hours. This really simplified the recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Whole family enjoyed! Very easy and delicious! I added some sherry additional potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Delicious! I adapted it once for a slow cooker but it was not as good so I will stick to the stove-top. Also, I leave out the wine completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Added a can of creamed corn,fresh dill, and def needed more thank 1 cup of milk. Soo yummy! Wasnt sure i should cook the potato cubes prior to adding to the chowder, but i added them to the chowder uncooked and let them cook slowly while i simmered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent soup! Very easy and flavorful. I also added corn, extra potatoes (and therefore more milk) and cooked the pots in chicken broth. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great recipe...when I read it I knew you would have to precook the potatoes. I did that plus I doubled the amount as did others. I had a small piece of salmon frozen and I threw it in. Also used low fat cream cheese and it worked fine. This recipes has so many possibilities and I will use it again for company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC<3's2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My review is for this recipe as written. While it fitted the bill for a quick weeknight soup, I thought it was far too heavy on the cream cheese, which was mostly all we could taste. I didn't care for the heavy feel it left in my mouth either. This also makes four extremely skimpy servings. It really should read only two servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Gosh this was so good! The whole familly loved it. I followed previous reviewers suggestions of using some shrimp stock, old bay seasoning, corn and one garlic clove that I sautee with the onions and celery oh and I also used low fat cream cheese and skim milk, my only regret is not doubling the recipe my husband wished I had made more. Thanks for the delicious recipe! Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States