Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I would cook the shrimp in the chicken broth base, otherwise the soup tastes rather fishy. Otherwise it was a decent recipe. I added more potatoes as other raters mentioned, for me it was too many potatoes and not enough veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We really liked this recipe and the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was b/c if I hadn't read other reviews first, I wouldn't have known to cook the potatoes and soften the cream cheese before adding them to avoid frustration and/or burning the milk due to the long melt/cook time. I followed the recipe except for these changes: I omitted the celery & salt and substituted 1/4 tsp of celery salt because I didn't have any celery on hand. I increased the onions to 2/3 cup b/c we like onions. I used Neufchatel cheese in place of the cream cheese and softened it in the microwave before adding it to the stock pot to reduce time needed to melt it. It still took a while to melt, though. I upped the potatoes to 3 cups and boiled them in one can of reduced sodium chicken broth with 1 Tbsp of Old Bay and when the potatoes were fork tender, I added the entire mixture. We had 17 extra large-sized shrimp (which had been steamed with Old Bay) leftover from Christmas, and I cut them into bite sized pieces before adding. I also used 2 cups frozen white corn (b/c I can't imagine chowder without corn), 1 extra Tbsp Old Bay (we're from MD and love our Old Bay!), and 1/4 tsp white pepper. This made 6 cereal-sized bowls of soup. I was full after one bowl, but my husband ate THREE because he thought it was so good! This could easily make a meal if served with salad and/or crusty bread. Or as another reviewer suggested, serve it in a bread bowl. Thanks for a great starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was delicious! I added a 15 oz. can of cream-style corn and about half a cup of frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
We thought this was really good! I only used half the cream cheese, doubled the potatoes (cooked in water with 2 chicken bouillon cubes, then drained), added some frozen corn and I also added quite a bit of old bay seasoning. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
YUMM! I boiled some red potatoes in some water and bullion first and added some sprinkles of Old Bay seasoning at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
made this tonight for dinner. great base to start with but after reading some of the reviews I added a cream of potato soup to help thicken the sauce and definitely needed more seasoning.. I used Old bay we like it heavy... salt pepper and a touch of garlic powder.... nice thick chowder! oh and I also added corn cuz what is a chowder without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Good basic recipe. Prefer not to use cream cheese. I added more milk and thickeded with instant potato flakes before serving. Add potato before shrimp or the shrimp will overcook and be tough. Easy to enlarge measures of ingredients to produce larger or more servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Sounds really good, but recipe makes no provision for cooking the potatoes. Ooops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent! I doubled the recipe, except the cream cheese and added a bit more potatoes, old bay seasoning, dill weed, and black pepper. This was so easy and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was delicious and quite easy to make. I followed the recipe, but as others suggested, I cooked the potatoes in chicken broth and then added the potatoes and some of the broth. I also added Old Bay to taste. To make it easier, I also used cooked salad shrimp...it was the perfect size and I didn't have to take off shells or cut up the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States