Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I made this for a progressive dinner for 12 and they raved about it. Used a bag of potatoes O'Brien, frozen corn and some diced yellow and red peppers. Also added a tbspn of Old Bay. Everyone had seconds and want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I wanted to say how authentic this recipe was! It tasted great right off of the stove and even warmed up. I did add pepper and some shredded cheese to the recipe for added taste, but otherwise, great job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Awesome, Easy, Quick, Simple - all is had was some freezer damaged salad shrimp and it was still awesome. Added a little frozen corn for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luck, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Great recipe! I added some Creole seasoning instead of salt to give it some kick. Also, only had 4 oz cream cheese so I added a can of cream of chicken soup. Turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This recipe needed more flavor. I added more white wine to make it less stiff. I tried it with shripm, corn potatoes and mushrooms. Added a lot of cayenne and some yellow and red peppers for flavor. This recpe is a good base, but you really need to get creative with it to make it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
The boyfriend and I loved it, but made a few changes to accomodate what we had on hand: (also doubled servings by time we were through) 1 can (+ 1 can h20) cream of chicken soup, used veggie and regular cream cheese, added carrots and corn, clove of garlic, chili spice, Sriracha Chili Paste, and added 8 oz. crayfish tail meat. I loved this recipe(even though we doctored it a bit)! Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loislain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Too thick, too bland! It needs some seafood stock or something-not a lot of shrimp flavor! I'm NOT impressed. I will continue my search for a yummy shrimp chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This was great-My kids even loved it!! I changed a few things I boiled the cubed potatoes in chicken stock until fork tender I used 3 cup of potatoes-like others added 1 tablespoon of Old Bay seasoning-added 1 can of corn-1 cup chicken stock an additional cup of milk and a few drops of Tabasco. I also served them in bread bowls GREAT RECIPE! I took some to my sister at work and her co-workers had her call me to ask where I bought it because they wanted it for lunch too =)!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Made this for my boyfriend and he said it was the best "soup" he had ever had! This from a man who never goes beyond saying anything is better than "good". He likes things a little spicier - so I added some black pepper, cayenne pepper, and tobasco sauce. Great and easy - my favorite combination - will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
Excellent chowder!! I used a little more celery and added some minced garlic and dried parsley (to taste) to the saute. I also used a little more potatoes (pre-cooked), which meant I had to up the liquid a little so I added 1/2 chicken broth. Finally, I also threw in a can of drained clams. Nice, thick, flavorful and a breeze to make. Take another bow Corwynn for another winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States