Shrimp Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TLLawrence
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My 9-year-old daughter helped me whip this up in nothing flat! We used chicken broth in place of the wine, and she used her nose to add a generous pinch each of basil, dill, and summer savory. It was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Delicious.....I really enjoyed it. Took some of the comments and ran with them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Delicious starter recipe! I sautéed the onion, celery and 1/2 a chopped red pepper in a teaspoon of coconut oil. I added 4oz cream cheese, 8oz evaporated milk, 4oz almond milk and 8oz chicken broth. I then chose to add 1 precooked chopped sweet potato, 1 can creamed corn and 1/2 cup frozen corn. I cooked the shrimp in a tsp of coconut oil and added it last. I seasoned it with 1 tsp creole seasoning, dried parsley, oregano and a dash of red pepper. WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I loved it but next time I will parboil the potatoes to speed up cooking time. I only added 1/2 block of cream cheese and two cans of evaporated milk. I added 2 cloves of garlic, minced and 1 tbsp of dried parsley for colour. I added a can of baby clams with its water for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This recipe is bland as is and needs extra seasoning. I'm going to add garlic, bay leaves and perhaps red pepper and see if that helps. Easy enough to fix and modify though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Delish! but a bit bland, so I added, orange and red pepper along with the celery and garlic cut it fine, sauteeded it, then did everything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
kinda thick for a soup as written. Didn't use add all of the cream cheese, instead a 1/3 of the amount and added 2T brandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Wowww delicious I used veg broth instead of wine.. Really good thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Astonishingly delicious! And very straightforward preparation. I did use larger frozen shrimp (16-22 per 1 lb. bag). The chowder is visually appealing, as well. I suppose because it is not a roux-based chowder - thickening coming from the cream cheese - the surface remained shiny without turning pasty. Just lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Made this because I had leftover frozen "salad" shrimp. It was wonderful! Using ideas from other reviewers and because I needed to stretch it just a bit, I added more potatoes (I cooked them first), corn, and a can of chopped clams - juice and all. I also used Old Bay after a taste test seemed bland. Everyone liked it - and my daughter added some leftover bacon to her bowl - she claimed it only made it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States