Shrimp Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Wonderful! I had to change the recipe to use less mayo (about 3/4 cup) and then coated the cakes in extra cracker crumbs to help hold it together. My husband and I prefer them broiled than fried (broil for about 8 min). My husband even wanted me to make extras for his lunch the next day, he said it was even better after the flavors had melded! I will try making the mixture a day ahead next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Loved the recipe, but changed it a little. Instead of buttery crackers, I used Keebler's Multi-Grain Club Crackers and added a half a cup more. (Started with a serving size of 8) I also crushed them as fine as possible. Then I used a muffin pan and added the mixture to foil cups in the muffin pan and baked them on 450 for 20 minutes. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
my whole family loved this recipe. Followed exactly as stated and wouldn't change a thing. Will use again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
These were really good. As suggested I used less mayo, added alittle old bay and patted on panko crumbs. Stayed together perfect and had a wonderful delicate taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This were still a little bland for my taste. I will try them again. I cooked them in the oven and they were nice and crispy still and also stayed together. I just expected more flavor. Next time I will add some garlic and some red pepper..other than that it's a good base recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These had a great flavor after some minor adjustments but they seemed incredibly greasy to me. I used less mayo as suggested and added a little cajun seasoning and parsley as well as adding a little Italian breadcrumbs. I did pan-fry (with very little oil) to get them brown and then popped them in the oven to cook through, though I think next time I'll just bake them from the start and try using half the crackers and half breadcrumbs. I might also add an egg to the mix to help bind the ingredients better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
The taste is good, but like others said, it was too greasy using the the mayo and then frying on top of that. I got a stomach ache from the block of grease I felt in my stomach afterwards. I salvaged the last two patties and baked them. Those turned out much better. If I were too try this again, I would reduce the mayo and absolutely bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I have made these 3 times since finding the recipe - and they are great! I have used italian seasoned breadcrumbs with perfect results. I also cut back on the mayo. As a dipping sauce, try mixing equal parts of dijon mustard, mayo, and green tomato relish - or pickle relish. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Everyone loved these!! I brought them to a dinner party and they disappeared in a flash. I took some suggestions from other review....I added a little garlic powder, reduced the mayo to 3/4 cup. I also broiled them for about 8 mins instead of frying them. And I used spicy horseradish mustard rather than the yellow mustard!! I made a little dipping sauce with mayo, spicy horseradish mustard and relish too. YUMMY!! Will definitely be making these again....and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burkelbabee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngieItaliano
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
We loved the delicate flavor of these. They were perfect on the Avocado Mango Salsa from this site. I will be making them again but maybe use panko and make them a tad drier, we found them a little on the mushy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States