Shrimp Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I have made these 3 times since finding the recipe - and they are great! I have used italian seasoned breadcrumbs with perfect results. I also cut back on the mayo. As a dipping sauce, try mixing equal parts of dijon mustard, mayo, and green tomato relish - or pickle relish. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Not sure what I did wrong, but the cakes fell apart and I had a skillet full off pieces. Not sure that I will try this one again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Loved the recipe, but changed it a little. Instead of buttery crackers, I used Keebler's Multi-Grain Club Crackers and added a half a cup more. (Started with a serving size of 8) I also crushed them as fine as possible. Then I used a muffin pan and added the mixture to foil cups in the muffin pan and baked them on 450 for 20 minutes. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This recipe is a keeper! A nice flavor and easy to make. As suggested by other reviewers, I reduced the mayo to 3/4 cup and broiled the cakes. A big hit at dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I am a big fan of crab cakes, but these were even better. These were excellent! Cheaper to make than crab cakes too. I did however, omit the parmesan cheese, cut back a little on the mayo, used whole wheat Ritz crackers and added chopped italian parsley. I also added a little bread crumbs to the mix and rolled the shrimp cakes in bread crumbs before frying. I will definately put these on my "make often" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
These were great! Lots of flavor. I also sprinkled Old Bay Seasoning on top and instead of frying them I just cooked them in the oven. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
These weren't a hit with us, unfortunately. The mixture was incredibly wet and sloppy, and I didn't want to add too much additional crackers crumbs because it would take away some of the shrimpy flavor. The mixture did not hold together well either. I'm glad I gave them a go but it turned out to be a bit of a waste of ingredients. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Awesome!!! I didn't have any jalapeno so I used a little extra onion, hot sauce and chili powder. I will definately make this again, but with a little less oil in the pan or I may try broiling them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Wonderful! I had to change the recipe to use less mayo (about 3/4 cup) and then coated the cakes in extra cracker crumbs to help hold it together. My husband and I prefer them broiled than fried (broil for about 8 min). My husband even wanted me to make extras for his lunch the next day, he said it was even better after the flavors had melded! I will try making the mixture a day ahead next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Had some leftover shrimp and just eyeballed the ingredients until it tasted right. Added a bit of Old Bay and I was a happy camper because this was so darn good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States