Shrimp Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
These were very good and the whole family loved the flavor, but they were slightly mushy on the inside. I added minced garlic and red pepper and cut the mayo down a bit. I didn't fry them, I broiled them and turned once. Will make again but maybe bake first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was delicious and very easy to make! Especially good when served with a Caesar salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I followed the receipe as written and used the amount of oil called for, which was way way too much, and the patties just fell apart. Mayo just turns to oil also and there was no binder to hold it together during cooking at all. To the remainder that was in the bowl, I added breadcrumbs and an egg and the last batch did hold together. I made this as a side dish for grilled steaks along with a southwestern potato salad and thank goodness I had the potato salad. We had all the family over for Father's Day -- will never ever make this again. At least I was able to salvage the last part of the "batter". I really wouldn't give this a 1 star rating, but I have to select a rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I made just a few changes though. I used less mayo, only 1 jalapeno pepper, seasoned bread crumbs and cayenne pepper instead of Tabasco sauce. I also broiled the cakes for 12 min on the middle rack and added a dipping sauce made from mayo mustard and relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YvieWood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngieItaliano
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
We loved the delicate flavor of these. They were perfect on the Avocado Mango Salsa from this site. I will be making them again but maybe use panko and make them a tad drier, we found them a little on the mushy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Will not be making these again. Maybe I missed something, but they were mushy and would have been somewhat tolerable with Bay Seasoning instead of hot sauce. We went out for pizza as the family couldn't take it. First time ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These had a great flavor after some minor adjustments but they seemed incredibly greasy to me. I used less mayo as suggested and added a little cajun seasoning and parsley as well as adding a little Italian breadcrumbs. I did pan-fry (with very little oil) to get them brown and then popped them in the oven to cook through, though I think next time I'll just bake them from the start and try using half the crackers and half breadcrumbs. I might also add an egg to the mix to help bind the ingredients better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This were still a little bland for my taste. I will try them again. I cooked them in the oven and they were nice and crispy still and also stayed together. I just expected more flavor. Next time I will add some garlic and some red pepper..other than that it's a good base recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
These were really good. As suggested I used less mayo, added alittle old bay and patted on panko crumbs. Stayed together perfect and had a wonderful delicate taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
So good! I'm new at cooking, but this was very easy but so rich. My boyfriend ask for this for special occasions. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States