Shrimp Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
The taste of the bisque is very, very smooth. The changes that I made were as follows: already had shrimp shell stock, so just used this. After cooking the flour/butter mixture along with fish stock, I added onion, celery, etc. I let the mixture heat slowly, and thickened for about 40 minutes. Added shrimp at last ten minutes. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Excellant. My family loved this recipe. I used more cream and less stock to make it creamier. I also left out the hot sauce since we are not a "hot and spicy" family. Still very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Outstanding! Takes a long time to make, but it's well worth the effort. Make an evening out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
My husband said that this dish is restaurant quality and I agree! I halved the recipe and used chicken stock (freshly made). There was more sauce than needed but I have frozen the leftover to go with some frozen seafood mix that I will cook at a later stage. I think that most of the flavour comes from the shrimp shells/heads and the brandy and sherry added. The best taste came after I added the sherry and seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIRDINKUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windhoek, Khomas, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is the best seafood bisque recipe I have made yet. You could change the shrimp for crawfish or crab or combine them. Also, the trouble of straining out the shells is well worth the effort--they add so much flavor! When I peeled my shrimp, I made sure I threw away the feet and only put the big pieces of shell in my pot. This way, they were easier to get out. Also, I used chicken stock instead of seafood, and I added corn at the end so that it's a delicious shrimp corn bisque. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
My first time making bisque turned out amazing. This recipe is so unbelievable. Made it for an office holiday party for 12 people. This turned out to be a perfect amount since it left enough that I could send everyone home with a few ladles to enjoy it later. Every loved it. I substituted 1 1/2 lbs of shrimp with 1 lb of shrimp and 1 can of lump crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
We are eatting this right now and we wish that we could give it more stars!! It is soooo smooth. My husband says he has never had anything like it...."a true culinary experience" is what he thinks!! Things I did differently: 1. Used cooking sherry and vermouth instead of sherry and brandy 2. used the crawfish stock that I made last night and did not cook the shrimp shells 3. doubled the hot pepper sauce and worcestershire sauce 4. used half and half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This recipe was wonderful, it had wonderful flavor, and a great creamy texture because of the rue, I didn't have to use heavy cream, I used regular milk, I also used flavored cooking wine instead of the sherry and brandy. My mother is a great cook, and she said that my bisque was better than her's! That was a huge compliment! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Very good and tasty I took it into work and every one thought it was excellent!!!! I used Chicken Stock instead of Seafood... And I used crab and shrimp It would also be good with Crawfish and Clams....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
A fantasitic recipe! However it did turn out a little watery, next time I think I will use more cream and less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States