Shrimp Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I had to make a few changes based on what I had: chicken stock instead of seafood, vodka instead of brandy, no tomato paste, and fat-free half & half instead of heavy cream. This is probably the best seafood soup I've ever made, even with all those changes! It takes some time but it's soooo worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
A miracle. I am a fairly inexperienced cook, and throughout the process I thought I had a disaster working. Accidentally used chicken stock rather than the seafood stock. At the end, this was the best shrimp bisque that I have ever tasted, if I did make it myself. As I was cleaning the kitchen I kept dipping into the leftover bisque. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Excellent!!!! Last weekend we had a progressive dinner in our neighborhood. I had to do the soup, so I chose this recipe and it was a hit to put it mildly. Everyone had seconds. I didn't change a thing in the recipe except added another half pound of shrimp.Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
this was delicious! it does take a bit of time to prepare but it is worth it. i actually doubled the amount of shrimp and put half into the simmering mixture in step two (in place of omitting the shrimp shells) that way after the whole mixture simmered for 45 minutes, i could throw it all into a blender without having to pick out shrimp shells. the extra shrimp adds a lot of flavor and bulk. after pureeing it in the blender i put it in the fridge overnight, and reheated it the next day. After reheating it,i then added in the cream, spices, and more shrimp. wonderful! dinner party of 12 and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Absouluely the best!Restaurant quality! I substituted Coffee-Rich Creamer for the heavy cream.My family is lactose intolerant.This cuts the fat grams in half! You cannot taste the difference! A bit labor intensive, but worth every minute!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
very hard to make - took forever. Use chicken stock if you can't find seafood stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made this soup for dinner last night. Followed the recipe exactly and it was Fantastic! Definitely worth the work to make it. My family loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
very good recipe... used some leftover lobster shells to make the stock, I would put it up against any resturant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: California, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
AMAZING! A little time consuming, but well worth it. I will double the recipe next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Wow it was great. If your organized and you get all your ingrediants ready, it isn't too bad. I did everything except the cream and shrimps in the morning. Than at night, I reheated it on the stove, added the cream and the final ingrediants such as the sherry, worcester sauce....and cooked the shrimp and added that. I served it over cooked white rice and steamed brocolli pieces that I mixed in with the rice. It came out on the thick side, which was perfect for the meal. I had to bring the recipe down to 5 people. It's definetely a RICH recipe. My husband loved it and so didn't his parents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States