Shrimp Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
This recipe is awesome . . . I have substituted imitation crab meat for the shrimp, which tastes wonderful, too. It's a favorite at our home for SaturdaySunday afternoon get-togethers, holidays, etc. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This actually tasted a little sweet, I guess because of the cocktail sauce. I'd suggest adding some horseradish to the cocktail sauce to give it more of a kick. I think it would be better without the mozzarella, which just took away from the taste of the shrimp. There are so many appetizer recipes with cheese that I'd just prefer that you tasted the shrimp more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
I took this appetizer to a Christmas Party last night. Not only did it look festive, with the green onions and red tomatoes, it was delicious! Two other people asked me for the recipe! Jill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
A great change of pace from layerd bean dips! Very good. I don't think it really needs the tomato though, it just seems to make it wet. If you think it needs some color, maybe chopped red or yellow bell pepper would be an idea. I actually think I like it best with just the cream cheese, cocktail sauce and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Made this recipe this weekend for a football tailgate. I did change it up a bit, using sour cream in the base along with the cream cheese to make it more "dip" friendly. I used the frozen shrimp as suggested and also removed the tomatoes and the mozz. cheese from the dip. It was great! I would make it again. A word to the wise, my wife thought thre was too much cocktail sauce so perhaps cutting back would be a good suggestion. Wonderful, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Definately a keeper, however found the frozen baby shrimp to be tastier for this recipe instead of the canned. (Less of a fishy taste). Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this for Christmas Day, and we really enjoyed it! I just did the cream cheese mix, cocktail sauce, and frozen, small shrimp and left off the green onions, tomato, and shredded cheese, and I am glad I did, b/c I liked how it came out just fine. I think if I had added those other things, you wouldn't be able to get the shrimp flavor as much. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a big hit on our Christmas Eve appetizer buffet. I left out the green onions as a personal preference and used a shredded cheddar mix instead of mozzarella because that is what I had on hand and also added chopped crab meat. Served with Ritz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Perfect for a summer afternoon! I made it the night ahead and my in-laws came the next day & loved it. Very good and a good summer time treat! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States