Shrimp and Sugar Snap Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I make this frequently. Usually add mushrooms and onions and increase the amount of garlic. However, if I use this recipe I'll have to find the chili oil. I've looked in numerous grocers and have come up with nothing. Can someone tell me where to look for chili oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
It was good, but like other reviewers said; a little bland. I think that it's a pretty easy fix though. I added some spices like: paprika, oregano ect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco & Isa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Okay, I know I've said it a million times, but I'll say it again. Take some good pasta, olive oil and garlic, and throw in whatever meat or vegetables you have on hand and you'll have yourself a delicious and satisfying meal you can sit down and eat in just about 15 minutes. I followed the recipe loosely, skipping the chili oil as I'm not fond of things hot. Also, because I had them to use, I substituted frozen green peas for sugar snap peas and added some halved grape tomatoes, which also added an attractive punch of color. Light fresh flavors and ingredients, this was an ideal dish to dream of spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Pretty good. Did make a few changes because I read the reviews. Added more lemon. And yellow squash, which was amazing. Didnt have chili oil, so I put more red pepper flakes. We really liked it. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann of CT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
SUPER easy to make! The only thing I would suggest would only use the chilli oil and omit the olive oil as I didn't get much heat from the taste. I also didn't reserve extra pasta water as I thought the white wine reduction was more than enough liquid it needed. A few tweaks here and there and it would be perfect! So light and fresh for the summer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I probably tripled the basil, added salt and pepper, and used Trader Joe's garlic and basil linguini. I also didn't have chili oil, so I added cayenne pepper while the shrimp were cooking. I didn't think it was bland at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
excellnt light, summer recipe for pasta. I have many snap peas growing and this was a delicious quick meal to incorporate the peas, thanks Eake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
It was good but it could use a little more flavor, maybe some peppers or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I had to add cornstuarch to thicken it. Might have even been better with a little lemon rine and some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I loved this! Made some slight adjustments in quantities - half a box of linguini, 1 pound shrimp, and probably closer to 1/2 cup basil. I used some Thai Chili oil that I had made with grapeseed oil and dried Thai chilis, and upped it to 1 tbsp (because I knew it wasn't super hot), and for the basil I used a combination of Thai and regular basil. I added a pinch of salt and some fresh cracked pepper to taste. Between the succulent shrimp, sweet, tender/crisp snap peas, garlic, wine, lemon, fresh basil and that hint of chili oil that sneaks up on you, I thought this dish had the perfect blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States