Shrimp and Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I used 4 tablespoons of lime juice, added 2 cloves of garlic in the saute, used red bell pepper instead of green, used 1 cup of chopped fresh green beans instead of asparagus, omitted the raisins and 2Tbsp oil for the quinoa, and doubled the mushrooms, red pepper, and parsley. It's quite a few variations, but the result was very flavorful and quite healthy! I will certainly make this again, perhaps even with a few more veggies included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I made this last night and my husband and I loved it. I did want to make a healthier version so I used 1 teaspoon olive oil to saute the vegetables and shrimp in a non-stick skillet over medium heat and did not add the additional 2 tablespoons of oil at the end. This shaved off about 100 calories and 10 grams of fat per serving! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This recipe was delicious and exceptionally healthy. I didn't have asparagus so I substituted green beans. I also used fire roasted red peppers (in a jar) in place of the green peppers. Next time I would add saute some garlic with the olive oil when heating the pan. We found this to be a wonderful alternative way to prepare quinoa and a must-try for novice quinoa fans. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I made this dish last night and it was really fantastic. Easy and delicious, and so healthy! I pack bento lunches for myself so I'm always looking for good recipes to make on the weekend for the upcoming lunches, and this was perfect. It actually makes 8 cups, so to me it's 8 1-cup servings, which makes the nutritional information very favorable! The only thing I'd change is that next time I'll put in even more asparagus, because I love asparagus. I wanted to note for future cooks that I used frozen pre-cooked shrimp and it was fine. I also used powdered ginger as I didn't have any fresh, but I used more of it. I used lime juice out of a bottle, about 1/4 cup seemed the appropriate amount. This recipe will be a staple, I know! Thanks for a great way to eat quinoa, a real superfood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was VERY good. I only made a few alterations, but nothing that would jeopardize the recipes integrity, for instance: I added 3 cloves of garlic (I honestly can't imagine this recipe without garlic), omitted the raisins, used pickled ginger instead of fresh (it's what I had on hand), used a fresh lemon instead of a lime (again what I had on hand, this was a VERY NICE touch), and added a handful of spinach to give it a little more color and nutrition. It was delicious and healthy. The best part about this, is that the leftovers can be eaten cold! I imagine that this would make a great summertime salad due to its fragrant citrus notes and fresh greens. Thank you for sharing, I WILL make this again, and possibly experiment with different ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Nowicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
The quinoa with all the veggies and sweet lime flavoring is excellent. I used red peppers instead of green for extra color, and regular raisins because I didn't have the golden. The only thing I didn't like was the shrimp had no flavor. I would grill it separately speared on rosemary kebobs and your favorite seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Excellent quinoa recipe. I added sliced grape tomatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I left out the quinoa & lime, used orzo and chicken stock instead. Very good; made twice in one week, once with shrimp, once with tilapia. Delicious both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Although I felt this recipe was basically very good, I felt it lacked flavoring and needed spices of some sort. The ginger/lime didn't really give it enough distinctive flavor, and the dish was rather plain. I would experiment using garlic or sesame oil in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This dish was amazing! I've been looking for a good quinoa recipe and this one is it. I didn't have the raisins so left those out but it still tasted fantastic. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States