Shrimp and Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Not bad. Seemed better the second day. Shrimp was filing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was good. I just wish I had had all the ingredients for it. I didn't have bell peppers so I used celery and and added a very few pickled red peppers for color. I didn't have fresh ginger so I used crystlized and a little powdered. I also added 2 cloves of garlic and a bit more asparagus because we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Like everyone else, we are trying to eat healthier. I followed this recipe exactly, and it was okay, but seemed to be missing something. My husband and I liked it, and added a dash of tamari sauce at the table. I will make it again, but jazz it up with more asparagus, and maybe some garlic or red pepper flakes as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Kane Naylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was my first experience with Quinoa. I added 3 Tbs of ginger in addition to the Tbs of raw. didn't taste the lime juice at all so will add more. Replaced the raisins with orange inspired cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by No Appetite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I used 4 tablespoons of lime juice, added 2 cloves of garlic in the saute, used red bell pepper instead of green, used 1 cup of chopped fresh green beans instead of asparagus, omitted the raisins and 2Tbsp oil for the quinoa, and doubled the mushrooms, red pepper, and parsley. It's quite a few variations, but the result was very flavorful and quite healthy! I will certainly make this again, perhaps even with a few more veggies included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
We are just venturing into more healthful eating -- did not even know what quinoa was too long ago!! This was good! I sprinkled the lime juice on at the very end (and put more on the table). I would add more asparagus and ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
LOVE IT...first I browned and onion and green pepper, remove from the pot. Rinse quinoa well add to pot along with 1 1/4 cup water 6 oz can of pineapple juice along with 8 oz can of crushed pineapple, and the juice only from a can of mandarin oranges (use the oranges later as a garnish, throw in a handful of raisins and some celery. For a twist I also added 1/2 cup lentils. !/2 tsp. ginger. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to a slow simmer for approx. one hour, watch so pot does not go dry you may need to add more water. I microwaved some shrimp to serve with this YUMMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I have only made quinoa a couple of times and saw this one so decided to give it a try. The only thing I did differently was used a shallot (no red onion) and unfortunately didn't have asparagus so used carrots instead. I also added some fresh garlic and opted not to add the olive oil at the end as I didn't think it was needed. Turned out great...a nice healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I made this dish last night and it was really fantastic. Easy and delicious, and so healthy! I pack bento lunches for myself so I'm always looking for good recipes to make on the weekend for the upcoming lunches, and this was perfect. It actually makes 8 cups, so to me it's 8 1-cup servings, which makes the nutritional information very favorable! The only thing I'd change is that next time I'll put in even more asparagus, because I love asparagus. I wanted to note for future cooks that I used frozen pre-cooked shrimp and it was fine. I also used powdered ginger as I didn't have any fresh, but I used more of it. I used lime juice out of a bottle, about 1/4 cup seemed the appropriate amount. This recipe will be a staple, I know! Thanks for a great way to eat quinoa, a real superfood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was delicious, even my hubby liked it, I used 2 limes instead of just the one and added a few jalepino pepper flakes. Cant wait to make again.Going to skip the shrimp next time and serve with fresh steamed salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States