Shrimp and Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Y.U.M.M.Y.!!! Only used 1 tbsp of olive oil and added garlic (like I do to everything) in the sautee and this was amazing! You can do so much with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious quinoa recipe! Don't be turned off by the raisins, they make an excellent addition and I may even add more next time. I made the following changes....double the mushrooms and asparagus and didn't add olive oil to the quinoa. Will definitely make again, and this recipe can easily be altered with different vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Nice flavor combination! Easily adaptable to what you have on-hand and/or variations on spices, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I read all the reviews and was really disappointed with this recipe...fairly bland and the shrimp seemed overpowered by everything else going on. A good bit of chopping for a recipe that wasn't terrific. I didn't alter the recipe in any way, so maybe I should've taken some of the other suggestions/alterations offered by other reviewers. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Really yummy! Because of what I had on hand, I made a few changes.....chicken broth for the quinoa, green beans instead of asparagus, red instead of green pepper, regular instead of golden raisins, added some minced garlic, pre-cooked shrimp, lemon instead of lime.....yummy!! This seems like a lot of changes but they're just minor--really. I had some warm and cold and liked it both ways. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTYPET

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
We gave this 4 stars but only with the addition of red chili pepper flakes. We tasted it without and it needed that spice to compliment the slight sweetness. Otherwise the recipes "as is" would only be 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I LOVED this recipe! It was my first time trying Quinoa, and this recipe will be served in my house frequently. I made a few changes (since I don't like bell peppers and my husband doesn't like mushrooms): I used sundried tomatoes instead of bell peppers (and used the oil from the tomatoes instead of olive oil), no mushrooms, regular raisins (didn't have golden on hand), and threw in a diced avocado. It was scrumptious! I didn't have a fresh lime, so I guestimated 3 tbs of lime juice, which was a bit much, but it was still yummy. My picky (and self-proclaimed "meatatarian") husband ate 3 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was VERY good. I only made a few alterations, but nothing that would jeopardize the recipes integrity, for instance: I added 3 cloves of garlic (I honestly can't imagine this recipe without garlic), omitted the raisins, used pickled ginger instead of fresh (it's what I had on hand), used a fresh lemon instead of a lime (again what I had on hand, this was a VERY NICE touch), and added a handful of spinach to give it a little more color and nutrition. It was delicious and healthy. The best part about this, is that the leftovers can be eaten cold! I imagine that this would make a great summertime salad due to its fragrant citrus notes and fresh greens. Thank you for sharing, I WILL make this again, and possibly experiment with different ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Nowicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Not bad. Seemed better the second day. Shrimp was filing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was good. I just wish I had had all the ingredients for it. I didn't have bell peppers so I used celery and and added a very few pickled red peppers for color. I didn't have fresh ginger so I used crystlized and a little powdered. I also added 2 cloves of garlic and a bit more asparagus because we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States