Shrimp and Portobello Mushroom Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This dish had an excellent flavor, I wanted to rate it 5 stars but it did need a little fixing. First, I used only half cream and half milk but it was WAY too thick. Next try I used milk and no cream and it was perfect. I balked at the lb of mushrooms, but it's a perfect amount. Also, just personal preference, I used half shrimp and half scallops. Exquisite! I would serve this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I never have cream on hand, so I used 1% milk instead, and it was fine. The cream cheese still gave it that "creamy" mouth feel. I also don't keep "cajun seasoning" on hand, so I used 1/4 tsp. each of paprika, cayenne red pepper, black pepper, onion powder, and salt. The cayenne was really what pushed this recipe over the top - combined with the creaminess, it made a really interesting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I made this recipe for my fiance and his family. They said it tasted like something from a restaurant. The only alteration I made was that I used regular sized portobello mushrooms and I used 3/4 whipping cream and 1 and 1/4 cup skim milk. It was still very rich and has a little kick. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Pretty good! And amazingly easy. But I didn't make it as written. I cooked the onions/mushrooms, then removed them, wiped out the pan (or sauce will be greyish brown), and then melted the butter and added the flour. Let it cook several minutes to cook out the flour taste,then added the garlic (extra!) and spices. Let it cook a few minutes, then melted in the cream cheese and slowly added the cream. Added the mushrooms/onions. Yum! Also~ I subbed spaghetti squash for pasta to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
OMG this was so good. It made 6 very large servings, we are 4 and we ate it for dinner one nite and then we all ate it for lunch the next day too. This was a very simple recipe and we made it just as posted except the type of pasta - i was out of fettuccini noodles. We will be making this part of our regular monthly menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
MMMM, MMMM!! Prepared exactly as directed, but had to use mozzarella cheese instead of Parmesan. Restaurant quality! Shrimp and portobellos go so great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
best recipe on this entire website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
So disappointed when I make something and then rate it low. So VERY bland. Made it as per recipe, but added two extra cloves of garlic. Had to add salt and pepper after serving up to give it some sort of flavor. Just did not do it for us....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrasher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I made this last night for my husband's birthday. I used cookie_cooker's suggestions to melt the butter, then add the flour and cook for a couple of minutes before adding the cream cheese and cream. The only seasoning I used was Tony Chachere's (I'm from Louisiana, so it's a staple in my pantry). I used the whole pint of whipping cream, but I did have to add milk (I have 2%) to thin it a little. This was delicious, and quick! I was kind of scared to try it because a couple of people rated it so low...DON'T LISTEN TO THEM!!! My neighbor ate with us and kept saying how much better than the Olive Garden this was. I can't believe how good this tasted, considering it only took me 30-40 min. to make. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Caney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is an awesome recipe that will be sure to impress your friends and it is so easy! I made a few changes to make it a little healthier by reducing the amount of butter and using milk instead of cream. The dish still tasted very rich. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States