Shrimp and Portobello Mushroom Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Low-carbed it and it was delish! Since other reviews complained that the sauce was too thick, I was able to cut out the flour all together. I used a whole 8 oz of cream cheese and just a splash of cream and milk as needed to get it saucy. I used a Cajun seasoning I found on this site, threw in about a 1/4 cup of diced celery with the onion (because it was on the verge of going bad & needed to be used), skipped the noodles and instead served the shrimp and sauce over spaghetti squash. I only had a lb of shrimp on hand, but it was excellent! I was generous with the spice and still used a pound of mushrooms. I will definitely make again- super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was delicious! I made it with the ingredients as it said to. I followed cookie cutters directions of how to cook it and it came out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I halved the recipe used more salt, pepper, and cajun seasoning. I didnt have any cream so I used milk. It was a little thick so added more milk. Next time I will half the flour. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Made it exactly as the recipe called for and is one of the best pasta dishes I have ever made. This had a excellent flavor and was not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This was so good! I made some changes, not due to previous reviews, but because of what I had on hand. I sauteed the onions and garlic with a yellow pepper and some regular mushrooms. I only used half of the butter, and used some white wine while sauteeing. I also used 3 oz of dill flavoured cream cheese - again, it was what I had on hand. I personally don't think it made a difference in flavour. I made the sauce as directed, except I used half and half, and thank goodness because I think whipping cream would've been WAY too thick. I added a bit extra parm, but thats more for personal preference. I didn't have 2lbs of shrimp, which was why I added the yellow pepper, to compensate for the loss of the shrimp. I put those all together once the sauce was thickened. I topped with fresh tomatoes, and a homemade basil pesto which was YUMMY. Will totally be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissjo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Great as is .The rest of you people have no brain area to comprehend that this recipe is to be made as the artist has offered. I made it the way intended and it is totally a best seller. I made it for my restaurant for a smiley add on and it was a big hit! Don't knock it if you can't prepare simple food ladies and quit trying to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear when it's already a silk purse. Thank you Bonniet310, you will be remembered in our menu and a super big thanks! Gary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
did a couple of revisions. first - pasta was kamut linguini from bulk barn. we love the nutty flavour of the grain. second - less butter, more olive oil. at lower temps it cooks quite well. third - no cream - wife is lactose intolerant - but cheese is good - so a combination of a little additional cream cheese, as well as using grana padano instead of parmigiano (a different, distinctive flavour). and a small sprinkling of chili flakes - to give it some more zing. a great recipe base - but as always a suggestion - not an absolute edict on ingredients. we may also try some cilantro next time - this is also an italian herb used with some of their pastas - and one of our faves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
best recipe on this entire website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I made this last night for my husband's birthday. I used cookie_cooker's suggestions to melt the butter, then add the flour and cook for a couple of minutes before adding the cream cheese and cream. The only seasoning I used was Tony Chachere's (I'm from Louisiana, so it's a staple in my pantry). I used the whole pint of whipping cream, but I did have to add milk (I have 2%) to thin it a little. This was delicious, and quick! I was kind of scared to try it because a couple of people rated it so low...DON'T LISTEN TO THEM!!! My neighbor ate with us and kept saying how much better than the Olive Garden this was. I can't believe how good this tasted, considering it only took me 30-40 min. to make. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Caney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Pretty good! And amazingly easy. But I didn't make it as written. I cooked the onions/mushrooms, then removed them, wiped out the pan (or sauce will be greyish brown), and then melted the butter and added the flour. Let it cook several minutes to cook out the flour taste,then added the garlic (extra!) and spices. Let it cook a few minutes, then melted in the cream cheese and slowly added the cream. Added the mushrooms/onions. Yum! Also~ I subbed spaghetti squash for pasta to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States