Shrimp and Peanut Butter Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
a little reminder of sate sauce....very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Well, I'm hooked. Seriously, the taste was incredible for how ridiculously easy this was! I added shredded carrots, green onions, and increased the broccoli and I'd love to try this with different veggie combinations; I think most would work. I decreased the sugar by about 1/4 and it was plenty sweet enough for me due to the sugar in the peanut butter (crunchy). I couldn't find Chinese black vinegar so I subbed half white and half red wine vinegar. The sauce would have gotten 4 stars, but I'm sure this would be even better as written so 5 it gets :) Next time (and there will definitely be a next time/many next times!) I would like to add something for zip, such as ginger or cayenne pepper. Thanks a lot for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
We used Balsamic instead of the black vinegar, becuase we could not find it. But the dish was quick, easy, and good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Excellent quick, relatively healthy meal. Takes me more than 15 minutes, but that's probably just me. I made it according to the recipe the first time (substituting cider vinegar for the black vinegar, which I can't find), and it was quite good. I have also used buckwheat soba noodles (more protein) and canned chicken (cheaper) with good results. If you're using canned chicken, be sure to add it after draining the noodles and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt T
Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I didn't have black vinegar so I used red wine. I am giving this 4 stars because I didn't care for the taste, but my guests did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Loved it very much, tasted exciting and exotic, but so easy to make right out of my kitchen w/o running to store. I would make more sauce next time and I omitted the shrimp for personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was OK. We thought there was too much peanut butter and none enough "kick". Probably won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wonderful! Definitely going to be a staple of my college days too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
i used spag + chinese cai xin instead of the udon + broccoli. would cut down on the peanut butter..found the taste too overpowering. would also add more of the black vinegar, and alil more sesame oil. otherwise, found this recipe to be surprisingly nice! have never tried using peanut butter on anything else other than bread. thanks! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good! I took a few liberties, not the least of which was using thin spaghetti (we've got a ton of that and no Japanese udon noodles in sight), using 1/2 balsamic vinegar and half cider vinegar to sub for the Chinese black vinegar, and doubling the sauce. I had already cooked shrimped, so I chose to cook the spaghetti and broccoli together, then add to a wok that had oil, peanuts, and garlic in it. Then I added the sauce and shrimp until everything was warmed through. I added garlic and onion powder plus a sprinkle of dried red pepper to the sauce. Very nice little recipe, and easy. I'd be willing to buy the Chinese black vinegar and udon noodles to try this and make it (a little!) more authentic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States