Shrimp and Peanut Butter Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Your college staple has become mine ;) It's still okay using other types of oil eg olive, but sesame is the best. My boyfriend loves it too (but I've been more careful with my shrimps after he got freaked out finding one with legs on it, but I think it just goes to show how good it was that he kept eating it after!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLadle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Amazingly easy, quick, and delicious. I have peanut allergies so I actually made this with tahini and doubled the sauce. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had to substitute some ingredients. Balsamic vinegar for the Chinese black vinegar, vegetable oil for the sesame oil, plain ramen noodles for the udon noodles, skipped the roasted peanuts as I'd used crunchy peanut butter, brown sugar for the regular sugar and frozen Asian-style stir-fry veggies. Makes a ton, would cut the recipe in half next time. Not bad, good for a take-out fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I subbed Soba noodles for Udon and they were terrific. I went to several stores looking for black vinegar with no luck. The closest I came was Japanese plum (ume) vinegar which I used and it came out very good, but it added some salt which the dish probably didn't need. I also used honey instead of white sugar. Great recipe. I love how it cuts down on dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I thought this was a little bland (and that was after adding some red pepper flakes as suggested by others). I had to use spaghetti noodles - 1/2 a box- because that was all I had. I thought that the noodles kind of took over. Next time I would add more broccoli and shrimp, and possibly a few other vegetables. I think I'd also try and add a little more spice and make a little more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was so easy and quick, and the sauce is fabulous! I have tried several other variations on home-made peanut sauce, but this was the best. I only had rice sticks on hand, not udon noodles, so I cooked them separate from everything else because they cook so quickly. Since I was tossing everything else into my wok (you can use any large pan), I added a little oil, cooked the shrimp, removed them, then sauteed onion, mushrooms, and the broccoli. I added 2 cloves of garlic. I kept the sauce was exactly as the recipe, except I used 1/2 chili oil and 1/2 sesame oil, but didnt use a whole tablespoon because I had added oil to the sautee pan. A tip for people who have a lot of soy sauce packets left over from take-out nights: one packet = approx 1 tablespoon. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Delicious! I ended up taking off the shrimp tails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Sauce was great. I subbed half balsamic, half rice vinegar for the chinese black and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iesika

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I made the mistake of reading the reviews and doubling the sauce. BIG MISTAKE! It turned into a pastey mess. I did sub the Chinese black vinegar with balsalmic vinegar, but I can't imagine that causing the problem. Next time I will try this according to the recipe and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
a little reminder of sate sauce....very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States