Shrimp and Pasta Shell Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
You've just got to love Chef John! Anyway, this is a great salad---better the second day! I did season it with a little Tajin (dried lime and chili), and I am going to add a little chopped green onion to my leftovers for dinner tonight. The shrimp I used were big ones, so I cut them in thirds. Perfect! Thanks again, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
The juice of a whole lemon??? I don't think so. I used 2T of fresh lemon juice, and then added 1T sugar, more mayo, and sour cream to tone down the tart taste of the lemon. I also added chopped sweet onion. Was out of cayenne, so used 5-pepper blend. The recipe calls for 1/3 C. chopped dill. 1/4 C. of chopped fresh dill is more than enough. Depending on preference, add peas, bacon pieces, or even chopped hard boiled egg. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Loved It. Prepared exactly as directed. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BG Smooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I have made this twice now and its fantastic! The first time i used shrimp and the second time i used imitation crab. Both were great. I really think the fresh dill is key here. This is a great way to use up veggies that are in the fridge, too, because the dressing is so good with any vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
increased this to 30 servings for a large crowd and substituted pasta shells with dry cheese tortellini (cooked of course), also used dry dill weed. Turned out great, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I added some Asian toasted sesame salad dressing to give it some zip and an Asian feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Fought

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Everyone absolutely loved this pasta salad. I also added some green peas and finely diced red onion but otherwise stayed with the recipe. The dressing had a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
this was great! Made it spur of the moment. Better than any deli salad. Very easy with mostly common ingredients. I didnt have the fresh dill but used dried instead and a shake of terragon. Turned out great with the dried herbs. So if you dont have the fresh dill dont pass this one over for that reason, just used the dried. I did cut the dried back a bit. Added a tiny bit of finely chopped green onion to the dressing for an extra kick of flavor. Also used a combo of salad shrimo and immitation crab because that is what I had on hand. This recipe lends itself to lots of variety. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This recipe is excellent. To put a little twist on it, try adding about a teaspoon of Chef Paul's Seafood Magic, and a teaspoon of dried chives to the mayonnaise before resting in the refrigerator. Great job Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Love shrimp & this recipe is the bomb! Organized & made as advertised. Added some green onions, but otherwise, this is delicious served on a bed of greens (with a touch of oil & vinegar). I'll admit that I did use some sour cream in place of some of the mayo. Just a touch of health concern. Noticed some reviewers added peas -- yea, can do....and can think of fresh asparagus as an option also. Yum. Follow the recipe and you'll be pleased -- and please, please, don't omit the dill. Shrimp, mayo and dill go beautifully together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnRascal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States