Shrimp and Okra Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I had to add so much more spices and other spices to make this recipe really good. Otherwise, it would have been really bland. I used 3 Tbs. tomato paste and took another reviewer's suggestion and added dried oregano, parsley and basil. I also used Paul Prudhomme's Gumbo seasoning and creole seasonng. Next time I would use 1/3 chicken broth and the rest water. 12 cups of liquid is way too much. I used 8 and next time I will use 6. However, once I doctored my resipe, it was REALLY good. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I'm on a budget and told myself I would only make this recipe with food I already had in the kitchen. So...I substituted a bag of Trader Joe's frozen pre-cooked shrimp (about $3) for the 2 lbs of fresh; I used a red pepper from my garden in lieu of the green; and I added two chopped-up pregrilled chicken breasts. I also reduced the water to 8 cups as suggested by previous reviewers. I sauteed the okra for half an hour, dumped the rest of the ingredients in the pot and set it to simmer...and then ran out to do errands for an hour and a half. I came back, spiced/salted the gumbo, and dished it out. The recipe turned out well; surely it would be best with the freshest raw ingredients, but given my restrictions, the soup turned out far better than canned gumbo and cheaper than the more purist version. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I incorporated many of the suggestions and it came out great. 1st (from a review that no longer is here?), if you use frozen okra, boil the okra a minute or two, then cook 50% longer than indicated in the recipe. I might microwave instead of boil it next time, though. 2nd, cut the water significantly. I used 8 cups. 3rd, I added a lot (?1/8 cup?) of Old Bay seasoning, some paprika and ~ 2T Emeril's seasoning (not much) for more taste. 4th, to reduce cost, I substituted 1# chicken breast (boneless/ skinless) for 1 of the #'s of shrimp. I seasoned the chicken with Old Bay and black pepper, set it aside and then quickly browned it in a non-stick pan before adding it at the same time as the shrimp. Served it to friends, and they loved it! Also, not sure about the serving size-calories in the nutrition info. This made a lot more than 6 servings, and I was going by 2 cups/person. I calculated it out at about 215 cal & 5g fat/ 2 cup serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I loveeeee this recipe thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Great recipe! I lived in New Orleans as a kid and have been looking for a great cajun gumbo recipe to match my memories of this delicious dish. I did reduce the water to only 8 cups and added Old Bay Seasoning for that cajun kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Excellent. The kids love it and they hate vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I have been looking for this magnificent recipe for 20 years. This is truly cajun cookin' people. Make it spicy! Also try using recipe for Seafood Gumbo Stock instead of water. http://soup.allrecipes.com/AZ/SeafoodGumboStock.asp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
Very good, but needs other cajon spices and file powder. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Excellent***** got a thumbs up from the whole family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This is a good if you add some spices (the mixture listed earlier is great). The water must be cut down. I quit at 8 cups. I also added a brown roux to thicken. Without it, it is way too weak. Without the extra spices, it has little flavor. Also, add a bay leaf and some Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States