Shrimp and Okra Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
To much water, I thought 12 cups of water was to much but I went ahead and did it anyway. Big mistake, I went grocery shopping for this recipe, it almost cost me, thank goodness I was able to remove the water, I probably took out about 6 cups of the water. I was in the kitchen working it, until I got it to my liking. The good thing about this recipe was the list of ingrediants, but after I drained the water out, I lost trake of how much of the ingrediants I used. I had to use a little more of this and a little more of that. But the ending result was good, I've had gumbo before so I knew how it should taste. so when it was all said and done, my husband and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Used 3 Cups water, 3 cups clam juice, 3 tbsp Old Bay, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp thyme, added 1/2 lb scallops and this was fantastic. When I make it again, will probably cook the okra a little less. Expensive to make, and absolutely worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I really didn't like this. It calls for way too much water, and I think that a broth would be a much better addition than the water. There is no way (in my humble opinion) that you could cook the shrimp for 20 minutes and not have extremely rubbery shrimp. Unfortunately, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Wasn't quite sure how to rate this recipe since it does need some doctoring, but the taste is delicious when all is said and done. I only used 6 cups of water (not 12!) to get right consistency. Also, used 3 tbsp tomato paste, 2-3 tbsp Old Bay, 1 tsp basil, 1/2 tsp each of oregano and thyme. And I still threw in a bit more (1/2 tsp?)cayenne to give it some kick. Boy was it good! Family gobbled it up with some french bread. Everyone is asking for the leftovers, but they are all gone! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
An excellent concoction of authentic flavors. I make it often, But a wee bit hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Haney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Simferopol, Crimea (Autonomous Republic), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
YUMMY!!!can't wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I had to add tons more spices (mainly a cajun spice mix and more cayenne pepper). I also added more tomato paste. It turned out great, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I had to add so much more spices and other spices to make this recipe really good. Otherwise, it would have been really bland. I used 3 Tbs. tomato paste and took another reviewer's suggestion and added dried oregano, parsley and basil. I also used Paul Prudhomme's Gumbo seasoning and creole seasonng. Next time I would use 1/3 chicken broth and the rest water. 12 cups of liquid is way too much. I used 8 and next time I will use 6. However, once I doctored my resipe, it was REALLY good. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I'm on a budget and told myself I would only make this recipe with food I already had in the kitchen. So...I substituted a bag of Trader Joe's frozen pre-cooked shrimp (about $3) for the 2 lbs of fresh; I used a red pepper from my garden in lieu of the green; and I added two chopped-up pregrilled chicken breasts. I also reduced the water to 8 cups as suggested by previous reviewers. I sauteed the okra for half an hour, dumped the rest of the ingredients in the pot and set it to simmer...and then ran out to do errands for an hour and a half. I came back, spiced/salted the gumbo, and dished it out. The recipe turned out well; surely it would be best with the freshest raw ingredients, but given my restrictions, the soup turned out far better than canned gumbo and cheaper than the more purist version. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States