Shrimp and Okra Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
We really liked this one. I did substitute one pound of shrimp for one poucnd chicken andouille because it was what we had on hand. I also used 7 cups water and added oregano,parlsey, Cajun seasoning, and salt to taste. Also it had more flavor the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jscherer
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Added Cajun spices. Used 2/3rds vegetable broth instead of water & only 1/2 of the liquids suggested & still plenty soup-like. Imagine it would have been way too watered down otherwise. Super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a 3 rating at best... I'm sorry. I usually don't rate any recipe this poorly but it is in major need of doctoring. One TBS of tomatoe paste for 12 cups of water? I doubled the recipe and used an entire LARGE can of tomatoe paste for 7 cups of water. Traditional gumbo has more tomatoe than that. It's best to use a cajun seasoning, like Tony Chaceres, rather than just cayanne. Other than that, everything marries greatly together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I halved the shrimp and okra and this one was still sensational. I used the seasoning mix suggested by SPEYERER which made this taste unbelievable! Will definitely be making this one a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
So good! Especially with Cajun Creole seasoning! I will be making this again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I don't know why this recipe has such a high rating. It is WATERED DOWN and BLAND. If you decide to make this anyway, please do not put no where near 12 cups of water in it. I put 10 cups in only because my pot could not handle 12. In the back of my mind I kept thinking that this is waaay too much water, but I tried my best to follow the directions (although it just did not seem right). Furthermore, there was no salt or any kind of spice that contained salt to boost the flavor (I'm not a big fan of salt, but I do know that it does help in adding flavor). To try to save this big pot of mess, I tried to cook it a little longer to cook down the water-but that made it worse. I cooked some rice to add in it to add more texture, because by then my okra and everything else was a big mushy mess. I also added some "slap ya momma" to add flavor. After adding "Slap ya Momma" it was edible. The next day it was better, but this recipe is not worth making again; therefore, I am continuing my quest to find the easy and delicious seafood gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skaykay
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very hearty Gumbo! Followed many of the advices offered by others esp. SPEYERER's (tripled the recommended ratios). Used 7 cups of water, frozen okra, and Bay seasoning as recommended; made a big difference in flavor for the better. Also used seafood mix, red potatoes, and a can of dark red beans. Seasoned and sauteed the shrimp. Topped off the gumbo with a scope of brown rice and parsley with green onions. Delish according to everyone who tried it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Cut the cooking times in half, if you want any texture. Mine, with good flavor but only 8 cups of water, was still mush and I wanted pieces of okra and such, not a soup. Family enjoyed it, but I was sitll dissatisfied. Further, I had added creole seasoning and Old Bay, and some scallops. Hint: frozen cut okra is much more economical at this time of year (January) than fresh!! Tastes the same, after cooking down. Pretty good, but I'll keep looking and experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this for my fiance' who loves okra. I made it exactly with the exception of using pre-cooked, tail-removed frozen shrimp from Costco. It turned out just as well and was better the next day after the flavors have melded together and the soup was given time to thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Soooo good. I seasoned the shrimp with Cajun seasoning and added lots to the pot as well. Came out great. Also only used 5 cups of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States