Shrimp and Okra Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very good recipe! I cut the water in half like many others suggested and added Old Bay cuz hubby loves it. He certainly approved of this recipe...even my okra hating 9 year old ate 3 helpings! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
So good, so easy, so hearty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Not a fan of the slime from the okra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was great. I personally am not an okra fan, but my husband is and was begging for some gumbo. I decided to make this recipe and was pleasantly surprised. I followed the recipe, except I used zucchini instead of celery, since it was all I had. I also used about 3 cups of water and 3 cups of chicken broth (6 cups total, not 12!) I served with a little brown rice and butter biscuits! A+ !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaliLama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was a lot of work for very little flavor. I also cut the water down to 6 cups and added bay leaves & Old Bay. Won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Pretty good gumbo. We had enough left over for 3 dinners and a couple of lunches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
The base recipe was ok - but in needed a lot of extra spices to make it flavorful. I did try this first before rating it - so that's what the 3 star is base on. After some adjustments I would absolutley give this a 5 star. 1. Cooking the okra for 30 mins is way too long - by the time the dish is finished the okra is mush. 2. I added - 2 1/2 tbls Old Bay, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper 3. Reduced the water to 6 cups 4. 2 tbls tomato paste 5. Next time I will add more tomatoes With the added spices and reduced water this was a AMAZING! I served over rice. This was enough for me and my husband to have for dinner and both take left overs for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
In the end it turned out good but I had to add a LOT of spices to make it tasty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I cut the water by half and added the herbs/seasonings that were spoken about by others. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Awesome recipe! I made this modification: A roux with 1/4 cup canola and 1/4 cup flour, cooked a little past the peanut-butter stage Substituted 1 lb of the shrimp with Andouille sausage Seasoned with Tabasco to taste Didn't have tomato paste, so I subbed a can of Chili-ready Diced Tomatoes and poured it in with the Okra. The family raved over this, and even the ones who don't usually like seafood ate it up, shrimp and all. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States