Shrimp and Okra Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
5 Stars with alterations, I followed the suggestions of other reviews: reduced water by half but 3 cups water and 3 cups vegetable broth, seasoned shrimp with old bay, but used only 1 pound and 8 ounces of lump crab meat, used only 1 pound okra, and seasoned stew with Zatarin's creole seasoning and old bay, also a bay leaf. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is a bad recipe. I followed this recipe and spent over 2 hours to make a watered down, bland dish that barely even looks like gumbo. I even added smoked sausage to the recipe and it was still bland. Not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very good recipe! I cut the water in half like many others suggested and added Old Bay cuz hubby loves it. He certainly approved of this recipe...even my okra hating 9 year old ate 3 helpings! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
So good, so easy, so hearty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Not a fan of the slime from the okra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was great. I personally am not an okra fan, but my husband is and was begging for some gumbo. I decided to make this recipe and was pleasantly surprised. I followed the recipe, except I used zucchini instead of celery, since it was all I had. I also used about 3 cups of water and 3 cups of chicken broth (6 cups total, not 12!) I served with a little brown rice and butter biscuits! A+ !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaliLama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was a lot of work for very little flavor. I also cut the water down to 6 cups and added bay leaves & Old Bay. Won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Pretty good gumbo. We had enough left over for 3 dinners and a couple of lunches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
The base recipe was ok - but in needed a lot of extra spices to make it flavorful. I did try this first before rating it - so that's what the 3 star is base on. After some adjustments I would absolutley give this a 5 star. 1. Cooking the okra for 30 mins is way too long - by the time the dish is finished the okra is mush. 2. I added - 2 1/2 tbls Old Bay, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper 3. Reduced the water to 6 cups 4. 2 tbls tomato paste 5. Next time I will add more tomatoes With the added spices and reduced water this was a AMAZING! I served over rice. This was enough for me and my husband to have for dinner and both take left overs for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
In the end it turned out good but I had to add a LOT of spices to make it tasty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States