Shrimp and Mushroom Linguini with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
far too much butter in the sauce- I used just a tablespoon and some milk along with the cream cheese. Lacked vibrant flavor so I added some lemon zest and fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious and the most inexpensive thing I have prepared in a while (less than $20). It made 4 large servings. The sauce is not heavy but full of flavor. Have I mentioned the main ingredients are butter and cream cheese? I was tempted to double the amount of seafood it called for but I didn't and was thankful. Don't over do this recipe, the portions are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
OK dish, on the plain side. Not sure if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and the sauce came out watery and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Followed the recipe to a 't' and it came out delicious. Some observations that others have probably already mentioned: I did all the cooking in one pan (shrimp, then shrooms, then sauce). Love it! The butter/cream cheese mixture curdled a touch while simmering, so I'll follow others' advice & warm those on low heat. Once I added the boiling water, it mostly smoothed out. Threw it all together, and voila! A very yummy dish you can alter to your own preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I'm not a huge fan of cream cheese and since I wanted less fat and calories, I substituted plain greek yogurt for the cream cheese, warmed up with the butter on very low heat so it doesn't curdle. I also used half the amount of butter and water to make the sauce creamier. I was really good served with stuffed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
In between mouthfuls, DH told me not to lose this recipe. To be fair, I gave this 5 stars, even though I changed it up a bit. I doubled the recipe, but I used two 8 oz. bricks of cream cheese; about 1 1/2 pounds of shrimp; an Italian blend of spices instead of basil because of personal tastes; thinned with milk (just eyeballed); and finally, some bell peppers were added. As I was heating the sauce after adding the shrimp, mushrooms and peppers, I found that it became a little thinner, so if you're eyeballing it like I did, be careful. This was incredibly easy and very quick to prepare. The taste was wonderful and the presentation was impressive. We eat a lot of seafood, so I will be making this often. Thank you, Karyn, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
super yummy! its resturant style good. best served with a thick slice of garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is excellently good!! My family loved it.. The only changes I made were, I doubled the shrimp in the recipe because it didn't sound enough to me & I added 1 can of evaporated milk instead of the pasta water in the recipe because I had a can that needed to be used up. IMO, even after adding the evaporated milk, I could have added a bit of the pasta water to thin the sauce out a bit more.. It thickens on standing. I also added some cilantro in place of parsley and basil.. Will make this recipe many more times for sure.. We all loved it on the day of making but I loved it even more cold from the fridge for lunch the next day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
A real hit with my husband. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McVeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orpington, Greater London, England, U.K.

Displaying results 91-100 (of 674) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States