Shrimp and Mushroom Linguini with Creamy Cheese Herb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Very tasty by following reviewer suggestions. I almost didn't make this since it isn't as low fat a recipe as I usually make, but I will definitely do again. I sauteed the mushrooms and shrimp together with extra garlic and white wine and slightly undercooked since I knew they would cook more when added to the sauce. I used 8 oz cream cheese, extra basil, and instead of water used 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 white wine and the liquid from after the mushrooms and shrimp had sat. Also added parmesan. I think next time I will try with lower fat cream cheese just to see if I can get the same results. I can see doing this in the spring with salmon and aspargus. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
384 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This could be a restaurant quality recipt with a few exceptions: Increase shrimp 1 lb., use cremini mushrooms, use fresh basil increase to 1/3cp and use flat leaf parsley. Double the garlic. Add 1/4 cp Marsala before adding shrimp and mushrooms. Serve with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This is absolutely amazing. I did have to add some milk to make the sauce because without it, it was just too thick (you could add some of the pasta water too...if you prefer). We loved this. This would be perfect for company because it has great visual presence. One of our favorite recipes from this site up to date. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Awesome recipe! I used white wine and boiling water with 8oz of cream cheese and the sauce was delicious. Also, using a wire whisk to break up the lumps of cheese in the pan really helps. Yummy and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I can't tell you how many times I've made this recipe. Its amazingly easy and you'll get rave reviews from anyone who hasn't tried it yet. The best part of this recipe is you can change it to your liking, add mushrooms or if you don't like them, use another vegetable like broccoli or asparagus or even pea pods! I always add extra garlic just because I REALLY love garlic. The recipe calls for shrimp, but I've also used chicken for this and pasta possibilities are endless! Penne, cavatapi, fusilli, linguini, fettuccini.. I've even used chinese lomein noodles (for extra protein). Fresh cracked black pepper to top this is a must it truly brings out the flavor of everything. Go ahead, try this recipe and post your combination and thoughts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
OOOHHH so good! This is another great recipe! I added a chopped green onion, a chopped green bell pepper and 1 chicken breast chopped (in addition to the shrimp)when sauting the mushrooms. I also used cream cheese with chives. It was heavenly! I served with "Spring Strawberry Spinach Salad" and "Great Garlic Bread" also found on this site and the combination was better than any restraunt! I will be making this meal again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
OMG - Very good! A new favorite for my boyfriend and I! Per others - while sauting the mushrooms, I added 1/2 red & 1/2 green bell pepper (chopped), apprx 1 TBLS minced green onion and 1 chicken breast (chopped). I too used cream cheese w/ chives and added a splash of white wine (not the cooking kind wht wine!) to the sauce. It wasn't too thick like others complained about and the flavors were great. The addition of the xtra veggies made the dish look even more appealing! Served with garlic toast and you have yourself and great meal!! Thanks Karyn & All Recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I added a full pound of shrimp. For the mushrooms, I used baby portabellas, and they were terrific in this dish. I also used red. fat cream cheese, and about 1/4 cup of butter, to try to cut some of the fat. The tasate was still wonderful! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Definitely a keeper. I followed some other suggestions by doubling the garlic and the cream cheese and adding 1/4 marsala wine. I didn't quite add all of the water and added some parmesean cheese to thicken it up. I used mini portobellos and extra shrimp and it was delicious! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
This was very good. My family loved it. We added chicken to the recipe. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States