Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
AWESOME! These were kind of a spur of the moment thing, so I had to do a few things differently...First, I only had a bag of salad shrimp, so I also added a package of imitation crab that I chopped up. I sauteed them both w/ the oil and seasonings just to warm them through. I didn't have restaurant style tortillas, so I used bite sized round ones. Lastly, I didn't have an avocado, so I made 'Spicy Cilantro Dressing' from this site to put on top, which was perfect for these! I can only imagine how good these are made as written, b/c they were great w/ all of my changes. The family really loved these...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Too much work for what you end up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Delicious! Much tastier than regular nachos. I forgot to use the avocado-cream sauce but it was great without it. Thanks Chef John for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Thank you John for taking the time to post this recipe. I have not had the opportunity to try it yet but it sounds great! I am so sorry that there people that have no class such as "Cindy" and talk in such a way as to belittle your efforts....again thank you for your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These were yummy. I added lime, salt and cayenne to the avocado creama, turned out great! Oh, and used colby jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Looks awesome - will try next weekend - Cindy-take it easy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nottingham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Good recipe. I used fresh North Carolina shrimp. I always use fresh NC seafood. Cindy must like her seafood frozen and from overseas. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This sounds wonderful. I am going to give a try this weekend. I am thinking about using a tomato/cilantro or some other type of 12 inch flour tortilla instead of the single tortilla chips and then baking it on a pizza stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
There is some advanced prep needed for this recipe but it's well worth it. This makes an impressive appetizer for company. I used chopped green onions instead of cilantro, sliced the jalapeño a little thicker for crunch, and recommend cutting back a little on the lemon juice because it was too tart for me. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Taste good, but not quite worth the work I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States