Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
AWESOME! These were kind of a spur of the moment thing, so I had to do a few things differently...First, I only had a bag of salad shrimp, so I also added a package of imitation crab that I chopped up. I sauteed them both w/ the oil and seasonings just to warm them through. I didn't have restaurant style tortillas, so I used bite sized round ones. Lastly, I didn't have an avocado, so I made 'Spicy Cilantro Dressing' from this site to put on top, which was perfect for these! I can only imagine how good these are made as written, b/c they were great w/ all of my changes. The family really loved these...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Too much work for what you end up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Good recipe. I used fresh North Carolina shrimp. I always use fresh NC seafood. Cindy must like her seafood frozen and from overseas. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Thank you John for taking the time to post this recipe. I have not had the opportunity to try it yet but it sounds great! I am so sorry that there people that have no class such as "Cindy" and talk in such a way as to belittle your efforts....again thank you for your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Made these for a super bowl party and they were the favorite! Hardest part wasn't eating them on the way there. Made them exactly as the recipe called, well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSUfoodlover08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
There is some advanced prep needed for this recipe but it's well worth it. This makes an impressive appetizer for company. I used chopped green onions instead of cilantro, sliced the jalapeño a little thicker for crunch, and recommend cutting back a little on the lemon juice because it was too tart for me. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This sounds wonderful. I am going to give a try this weekend. I am thinking about using a tomato/cilantro or some other type of 12 inch flour tortilla instead of the single tortilla chips and then baking it on a pizza stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Looks awesome - will try next weekend - Cindy-take it easy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meredith, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nottingham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These were yummy. I added lime, salt and cayenne to the avocado creama, turned out great! Oh, and used colby jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Delicious! Much tastier than regular nachos. I forgot to use the avocado-cream sauce but it was great without it. Thanks Chef John for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States