Shrimp and Crabmeat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Excellent! - I skipped the "loaf" part - just made up the spread. Then prepared it two slightly different "open faced" ways for a meal (eliminating about 150 calories per serving by skipping the French bread AND the second slice.) First, I used a thick piece of Texas garlic toast, topped it with a nice layer of shrimp and crab spread, wrapped it in tinfoil and baked as directed. Darn good. For the next day's lunch, I just put the seafood spread on a regular slice of toast, put paprika and pepper and parmesan on top, then put it under the broiler. Also darn good! Thanks for a great recipe, ME WYNTR, and thanks to a national drugstore chain for having the canned crabmeat and shrimp on special this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML Key West

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I loved this quick and easy sandwich melt. Very, very good. I went with swiss cheese over mozza and split ciabatta buns, baking them open face for about 15 minutes in the oven. I also grated a bit of fresh parmesan over top before putting them in the oven. I think next time I would chop up a generous amount of fresh parsley to add to the spread for the added boost of flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Yum! This was good cold, but even better slathered on a crusty roll and broiled for a few minutes until brown and bubbly. Either way it was super simple and delicious! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was awsome! I found 7 oz. packages of crabmeat and shrimp at WalMart, so that made it that much easier. Instead of salt and pepper, I used "Slap 'yo Mama" cajun seasoning and baked them open-faced for about 15 min. on 350 degrees. This is a great summer time meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
something is missing in this.. wasnt thrilled.. wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
this is so good!!! ... nothing to add or change... great recipe ... thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Instead of salt I used old bay and pepper. The family enjoyed this heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Update. I made this recipe again but used steak rolls instead of french bread. It was much better on less bread! Less dry too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I made this as a hot dip and served with some melba toast and it was a huge hit. I plan to make this again as an actual loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Pretty tasty and easy to make. The canned seafood makes it a little pricy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States