Shrimp and Crab Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Really good! Reminds me of how my mother used to make her shrimp salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PIDGE
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Wow, this not only looked pretty but tasted wonderful! I did change it just slightly. I changed the serving size to 4 rather than 6...there's just two of us. I omitted the eggs and used a red onion. I always buy celery with bright green tops as I use the celery leafs along with the diced celery. I put in a small jar of pimentos (for color) and used fresh lump crab meat along with the shrimp. For the dressing I omitted the milk and used sour cream instead. I doubled the dill weed and used Sriracha hot chili sauce rather than hot pepper sauce. The fresh mint from our garden was a nice touch also. I let it blend in flavor for 5 hours and then plated it on a bed of fresh butter lettuce. Not only did it look great, it tasted like a top quality crab and shrimp salad. Thanks Fred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIDGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I made this dish for my coworkers and everyone raved over it. I decreased the milk and added sour cream for a thicker dressing and increased the cocktail sauce to give it even more flavor and color. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This recipe is wonderful! I also make this with small seashell pasta and small salad shrimp. I recommend substituting sour cream for the milk as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is the best macaroni salad Ive had yet! The mint, the dill, the onion...even the touch of sugar all blends together in your mouth! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I loved this recipe and made it for the first time for a group if friends. I was worried that 6 servings would not be enough so I doubled it. I had so much food I seriously thought about mixing it in the bathtub! The orginal recipe in my opinion will probably serve more like 10 or 12 people. But it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
My family LOVED this recipe. I took a suggestion from another review and used sour cream in place of the milk. I used the sour cream and chives. I also used extra cocktail sauce and Tabasco. I used red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very good! My family loved it! Have lots of mint in my yard and was glad to have a recipe to use it in. I did not add the milk (substituted with sour cream), like others suggested. Didn't add the eggs, but put them on top, in case someone didn't want them. I will definitely make this again; would be great for a luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julietaylor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this the other day. Good thing I only cooked 2 cups of macaroni. Also instead of fresh & shrimp I used canned. This was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was good but I think next time I'll make sure that I drain the crab and shrimp on paper towels. I followed the advice from others to use sour cream and no milk. I used fresh dill along with the fresh mint. Also I used about a tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning. Oh and I also chopped up some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Barilla® Tri-Color Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States