Shrimp and Crab Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
yes I tried it this weekend and it was a hit. I didnt used the eggs because I was serving deviled eggs. i substituted the milk for heavy cream and I added olives. I believe the teaspoon of salt was too much so reduce it to 1/2 teaspoon. The trick is to make the dressing the night before (the mayo, heavy cream and seasonings) allow those to marinate. With the shrimp and crab, I even added lobster meat - marinate that with Old Bay Seasoning, Black Pepper, Dash of Red Crush Pepper, garlic and Cayenne - and let that overnight. The next day do you your Marconi, veggies - celery, onion, olives, green pepper and mix all together and allow it to sit for at least four to five hrs - turns out to be superb!!! I didnt mix all and sit overnight because I didnt want the macaroni to become mushy like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
with the mayo I used half hellmans & half miracle whip & added essense it turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was good but I think next time I'll make sure that I drain the crab and shrimp on paper towels. I followed the advice from others to use sour cream and no milk. I used fresh dill along with the fresh mint. Also I used about a tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning. Oh and I also chopped up some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very good! My family loved it! Have lots of mint in my yard and was glad to have a recipe to use it in. I did not add the milk (substituted with sour cream), like others suggested. Didn't add the eggs, but put them on top, in case someone didn't want them. I will definitely make this again; would be great for a luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julietaylor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PIDGE
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Wow, this not only looked pretty but tasted wonderful! I did change it just slightly. I changed the serving size to 4 rather than 6...there's just two of us. I omitted the eggs and used a red onion. I always buy celery with bright green tops as I use the celery leafs along with the diced celery. I put in a small jar of pimentos (for color) and used fresh lump crab meat along with the shrimp. For the dressing I omitted the milk and used sour cream instead. I doubled the dill weed and used Sriracha hot chili sauce rather than hot pepper sauce. The fresh mint from our garden was a nice touch also. I let it blend in flavor for 5 hours and then plated it on a bed of fresh butter lettuce. Not only did it look great, it tasted like a top quality crab and shrimp salad. Thanks Fred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIDGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T but none of us enjoy the dish. I should have done as another reviewer did, and used way less macaroni, and a much smaller pasta as another did. However, I am reviewing the recipe as it is. I won't be making this again. The taste and texture of the seafood is swallowed up by the pasta and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Really good! Reminds me of how my mother used to make her shrimp salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this the other day. Good thing I only cooked 2 cups of macaroni. Also instead of fresh & shrimp I used canned. This was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
My family LOVED this recipe. I took a suggestion from another review and used sour cream in place of the milk. I used the sour cream and chives. I also used extra cocktail sauce and Tabasco. I used red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
At first when I tryed this recipe it was bland but of course I didn't let it marinate...so once it marinates its better but I swear the shrimp and crab meat needs to marinate alone with the seasonings then mix, before I try any recipe I read the reviews and I am only assuming the person with the lowest ratings should have let the seasoning all marinate together over night if the time allows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States