Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
These are so deliciously easy! We had a Mexican feast for our Thanksgiving Dinner, and so far 4 different people have asked me for the recipe! I never follow a recipe exactly, so I used cooked chicken instead of crab, and more cheese than the recipe called for. I also pre-mixed the stuffing for the tortillas, because it seemed more efficient. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone for any meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. Johnson
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was quite good. I incorporated suggestions from many of the other reviewers. I sauted uncooked shrimp with a generous amount of garlic and a couple of leeks. I added about a 1/4 cup of cream cheese and some pepper to the mixture. I put a bit of the sauce in the pan first to prevent sticking (although it did still stick somewhat). For the last 15 minutes of baking I also threw some shredded cheddar on top and then broiled for a minute or so at the end. The biggest change was that I could only find red enchilada sauce and it was still good but I can see that the green sauce may be the key. I also generously filled 6 large flour tortillas and it filled my 9X13 ceramic dish nicely. I found that with the amount of crab in this recipe I got a nice crab flavour and didn't need more. I also used the amount of sauce listed and it was fine...not too soggy. Found I didn't need near the amounts of sour cream or green onions listed. Thanks for the recipe and all the other suggestions too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Awesome Recipe. I sauteed the shrimp with Garlic Olive Oil and onions. Since I have a dislike of canned crab meat (a little too fishy sometimes) I used fresh dungenous crab. Also to add a little extra flavor I added diced green chilies. Spectacular!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
i forgot to put spray the baking dish and they stuck and burnt. UGHH i'm sure they would have been wonderful had i followed the directions, as they were pretty good even though we had to pick out the burnt pieces. i'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rajah72524

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
another way to make a similar dish: mix a ratio of cooked, large-chopped shrimp and crab (real or fake, i used a pack of the surimi stuff) that you like. add a dollop of low-fat sour cream and a touch of half-n-half (again whatever fat level you like, it will work.) now saute onions, garlic, dash of cayenne powder, and FIRE-ROASTED TOMATILLOS (i used fresh, canned will work. these add a wonderful citrusy acidity that is PERFECT with the sweet and rich seafood. THE secret ingredient here) till soft, add this to the seafood. stir in some grated monterey jack or your favorite mexican melting cheese. have chopped fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice (cut a lime in half and twist a spoon in there like citrus juicer, or just squeeze with your hand.) add these to both the filling and sauce to taste. okay, the filling is done. now take some corn tortillas and toast them in a hot dry pan, one by one, till fragrant and a little colored (you could skip the toasting, but it's worth it!) mix a canned verde (green, it must be green! the flavor is different than red, and goes with the seafood and tomatillos) enchilada sauce with some sour cream and hot sauce to taste with a whisk. pour some sauce in your baking dish. add layers of sauce/stuffed tortillas till you run out, ending with sauce and a sprinkle of cheese. bake 40+ minutes till you see bubbles and melted cheese throughout. yum. (yeah, i'd post my own "creamy verde seafood enchilada" but i don't measure things, so it's a pain to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My guest enjoyed this meal. I love Allrecipes because of the tips from other reviewers. I took their advice & added a can of green chilis, as well as black olives. I also added extra cheese and the chopped green onions to the mixture. Thanks for all the recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Made these with corn tortillas as a casserole (did not roll) and they were WONDERFUL! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was just okay for us. I followed others recommendations based on what our family likes and used imitation crab. Sauted onions, garlic clove, and dash of cumin then added to the shrimp and crab before stuffing the tortillas. Don't think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was a good recipe. I chopped the shrimp into small pieces (i didn't use as much as was called for), and I used extra crab. I sauteed them in olive oil with a little seasoning, then mixed the crab and shrimp with a little cream cheese. I also used white corn tortillas to eliminate the soggy issue others had by using the flour ones. I layered the mixture on top of each tortilla and added the cheese, and rolled as per the directions. I also poured a little sauce on the bottom of the dish, so they wouldn't stick. I didn't want my enchiladas to be 'swimming' in the sauce, so I poured just enough to cover them. Covered and baked them as per instructed. With these changes, they came out superb!! I will definetly make these again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Yummy!... I sauted half an onion with some pablano chili and added it to the seafood cheese mix. I didn't use the whole can of enchilada sauce, I put a little on the bottom of the baking dish, then sparingly covered each enchilada so they wouldn't get soggy! Served with Spanish rice and veggies. We skipped the sour cream and green onions! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States