Shrimp and Crab Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I tried real hard to make this more tasty by cooking the shrimp in coconut milk, adding bell pepper, leeks, garlic and read all the reviews and adjusted the mayo, added cajun spice--to no avail. sorry folks this is simply sos-and looks like you know what...maybe sherry would have been the ticket. not going to spend the money on crab again for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Fabulous! Everyone loved it including my four slightly picky children. I too reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups. I added thyme, garlic, shredded cheddar cheese and hot sauce and ditched the almonds. We're not fans of almonds. The crushed crackers on top we really good. They were a nice crunchy touch on top of the creamy casserole. I can't wait to try it for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
The flavors are a wonderful mix. I halved the recipe and the next time will saute the onion with fresh mushrooms before adding to final mixture. Found the tsp. of hot pepper sauce just right - it didn't overwhelm the delicate flavors of the shrimp and crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Skibummer and Petra I completely agree with both of you. Why bother with the recipe, or any recipe on these boards if you don't have the ingredients in the house and substituted this or that. Go out and get your ingredients and THEN write an honest review. If you're on a diet why would you even consider a recipe that calls for full fat this or that, and then complain it's to heavy. Why can't the reviewer at least for the FIRST time making any recipe USE the ingredients and follow the directions and THEN review? I think the best reviews are the ones written that say I tried it exactly as written the first time I made it, but it needed more seasoning, less mayo, whatever. I believe those are the most honest reviews, and the reviews that will help anyone who wants to be a better cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I really like this recipe. I just feel like it should be more creamy or something. The ingredients taste really good together but there's nothing to hold it together on the plate. I took some of the other reviews into consideration and I added seasonings. I added some dry mustard and some Old Bay Seasoning. I'm from maryland and when I think of crab I think of Old Bay. :-) I also added small scallops. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEXAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Agree with Petra. BUT even more those who rate it but don't FOLLOW the recipe. How can they rate it when it wasn't the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I needed a casserole witout noodles so I am going to try this with tuna and definately with crab when I get some. I love mayonnaise and I don't use sharp-tasting spices so this recipe should become a base for me getting back into the casserole theme for fall here on the East Coast. Sounds like a good comfort food an I could use some of that, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was ok. I found myself adding garlic & creole seasoning to give it some flavor. I still thought it was missing something but it was a good base to start with. My family enjoyed it more than I did so I'll probably be making it again but will find additional seasonings to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My family loved the casserole! It is absolutely delicious! I used a few more cracker crumbs and then sprayed the top with a little Pam cooking spray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Point, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. So does my husband. It freezes well and when heated is wonderful! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States