Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Great, changed alittle, doubled it, added chicken broth instead ot the bouilon powder and 2x the onions (carmelized with the butter before adding any thing else).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My husband and I made this for the first time. We followed the recipe precisely...It was terrible. There is no time for the soup to delvelop any flavor. The crab and shrimp were not enough. The broth tasted like plain half and half. The white wine seemed to make it worse, creating a taste that was less than appetizing. Please think twice before wasting you nice crab meat on this dish. Very disappolinted....ended up making sandwiches for dinner :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is a good basic recipe to start with, but I made several changes. I chopped my onions and then sauteed them in butter & olive oil. Once they were soft, I sprinkled about 1/4 c flour over them and stirred to get it all mixed. Then I added about 1/2 a carton of chicken stock and stirred it until thickened. Then I added the wine and about 2 c of milk until I got the consistency I wanted. I added a whole large can of crab meat and no shrimp, because that was what I had on hand. It turned out WONDERFULLY. My husband and I both loved it. It made about 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made a couple simple changes. Since I don't like bouillon I substituted 1 can low sodium chicken broth then adjusted the liquids to accommodate the change. To keep it rich I used whipping cream in place of half and half. I also added 2 tsp. of Wye River Seafood Spice and some lobster pieces. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is FABULOUS! made some changes, needed more than what it made. I used 2 pints half & half, 1 fat free and 1 regular. also being a Marylander I omited salt and white pepper, added 1 tbsp Old bay and 3/4 tsp black pepper. Also, half cream sherry half white wine totaling 3/4 Cup. Just for added flare, part green onion, part white onion & 3 cloves fresh garlic This was soooo good it could be served in a resturant! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This recipe is awesome! Its extremely simple and easy to add your own touch. I used Pacific Rim Riesling (my fav to drink) and added a little shredded parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROWNSKYNLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
FANTASTIC!! I AM LEARNING TO COOK AND DECIDED TO TRY THIS.THIS RECIPE IS FOOL PROOF! IT WAS GREAT. I SUBSTITUTED THE SHRIMP WITH EXTRA CRAB. I ADDED CHOPPED BROCCOLI AND CANNED CREAMED CORN. I ALSO DID NOT HAVE ANY WHITE WINE SO I JUST PUT CHICKEN STOCK. THIS IS SOMETHING I AM PROUD TO SHARE WITH MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS .THANK YOU KATRINA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is super delicious. I doubled the recipe and added 2tsp of cayenne pepper to spice it up. I chopped up the shrimps into smaller pieces and added more onion. Oh and I also blend half of the recipe in a blender before adding the remaining half and half as one of the reviews suggested. Will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
OMG sooo good! Changes I made: used heavy cream w/o flour. Sauted onions, with garlic, red pepper flakes, and pepper in the butter. Added the cream, wine (only 1/4 cup), added chicken bouillon, seafood, heated served. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was an elegant 5-star soup that was the starter course for our Valentine's Day meal. I made the recipe as is although I used fat-free half & half as the cream. I also added a touch of Old Bay since we Marylanders don't eat anything with crab unless it has Old Bay. Thanks for a wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States