Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I added oregano, garlic cloves, onion powder, scallops, boiled potatoes, and seafood seasoning. Add enough for your taste buds, dip garlic bread in it. Serve it over grits also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Thanks, this was very flavorful. I used two small cans of crab meat, 1/2 lb. small shrimp, and 1/2 of a medium onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I omitted the salt, only had black pepper, and used the suggestion to use sherry in place of white wine. I had plenty of crab so I did not use any shrimp. Garnished with Old Bay. I thought it had too much sherry and wished I had used white wine! I'll try this again and watch the amount of wine (trying a little at a time) so I can give this the higher rating it probably does deserve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I have to start by saying I didn't use half-and-half in this soup... I'm trying to cut out dairy in my diet, so I used the Omega-3 fortified unflavored Silk soymilk, and I was a little worried, but it was delicious! I made a double batch, and used a full 12oz package crab (and other fish made to look like crab) meat, and about 1/2 of a 16oz bag of precooked shrimp. I was really worried it wouldn't be thick enough, but I let it simmer on the burner for quite a while and it thickened nicely. Wonderful and easy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This ended up being very expensive because of the crab, but so delicious. I didn't change a thing, and it was great. Very good with crusty bread - tastes better than at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was a big hit with both my clients and my husband. I too sauteed the onion, with some garlic, before adding the called for ingredients. Also added some scallops, along with cooked potatoes and carrots - which made for a hearty meal. Served with warmed Naan bread. Yum Yum...definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
If you like seafood, you will love this soup! This is a delicious comfort food ~ so rich and creamy. After reading the reviews, I used 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 half-and-half. Also following the advice from other reviews, I blended about a cup and a 1/2 in the blender and added it back to the bisque for texture. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Great, changed alittle, doubled it, added chicken broth instead ot the bouilon powder and 2x the onions (carmelized with the butter before adding any thing else).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My husband and I made this for the first time. We followed the recipe precisely...It was terrible. There is no time for the soup to delvelop any flavor. The crab and shrimp were not enough. The broth tasted like plain half and half. The white wine seemed to make it worse, creating a taste that was less than appetizing. Please think twice before wasting you nice crab meat on this dish. Very disappolinted....ended up making sandwiches for dinner :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is a good basic recipe to start with, but I made several changes. I chopped my onions and then sauteed them in butter & olive oil. Once they were soft, I sprinkled about 1/4 c flour over them and stirred to get it all mixed. Then I added about 1/2 a carton of chicken stock and stirred it until thickened. Then I added the wine and about 2 c of milk until I got the consistency I wanted. I added a whole large can of crab meat and no shrimp, because that was what I had on hand. It turned out WONDERFULLY. My husband and I both loved it. It made about 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States