Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is very similar to the other Shrimp & Crab Bisque on AR. I've made both and can't tell the difference. All to say that I think the 1/2 cup wine is too much, I did use only about 1/3 cup of white wine and it gave a perfect flavor. We enjoyed this with some toasted french bread and both of us thought it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! I added corn. It tasted better than some I've had at restaurants! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
MMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I don't put the onion in. I use onion powder instead(as an adult, I still hate the onion crunch) and we use 1lb. crab(with a k) and chop it up finely. We always end up using more pepper; we use both white and black. We also add garlic salt to taste(my family loves garlic). I always add more half/half, after everything is in, it's too thick to eat as soup, but I never measure, I only add until I have the right consistency. We also add at least 1/2 cup of grated parm. This is a fantastic tasting, very easy and fast meal to make(even my 13-year-old can make it by himself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
The only reason why I rated this recipe with four stars is because there is so much more the preparer can do with it to increase the flavor and texture! Like others, I added Old Bay seasoning and sauteed garlic and the onion. I happened to have Cauliflower in my refrigerator that I steamed and chopped to thicken and provide additional texture. In addition, I added a cup of sweet frozen corn, a can of petite diced potatoes, and a pinch of freshly dried thyme. It turned this soup into a great tasting chowder that is typically found in restaurants! Don't be afraid to customize this recipe to your liking with additions like the ones mentioned above. Just a side note, I do believe the flavor of the soup is compromised when using imitation crab meat instead of canned or fresh blue claw crab meat. Most likely I'm partial, since growing up eating crabs on the east coast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was the first time I've made bisque and couldn't have picked an easier recipe. I did alter a bit based on another review and added Old Bay and Cayenne. RAVE REVIEWS from my Christmas dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made exactly as described, and it was a huge hit! Only a couple of clarifications: I cut the shrimp into smaller pieces. I used Chardonnay wine. And I used Better than Bouillon from a jar rather than granulated. My people are seafoodies, and they loved it. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I absolutley loved this - especially how easy it was. I ended up blending the soup a bit and adding some milk but that's to preference. Next time I'll make 2-3 batches so it lasts longer than 1 lunch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe is delicious . I used sherry instead of wine and added a tablespoon of tomato paste . I doubled the recipe and only had about 4 servings . will make ahead and serving this over the holidays . Has anyone frozen any ? Does it thaw out well ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The whole family loved it. I subbed the salt for old bay. I pureed 1/2 ,and the other 1/2 I left chunky;then mixed them together and that was the perfect consistancy.I'll definetly use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States